Toulon end Munster’s Heineken Cup campaign

Toulon end Munster’s Heineken Cup campaign



Munster’s Heineken Cup ambitions for 2014 are over following a 24-16 loss to Toulon in today’s Semi-Final in Marseilles.

Rob Penney’s men came up short despite having trimmed Toulon’s 18-9 interval lead to just 2 points following a second half Simon Zebo try and Ian Keatley conversion.

Johnny Wilkison’s immaculate kicking saw him notch up a personal tally of 21 points from six penalties and 1 drop goal.

Keatley scored 3 penalties for Munster with Toulon’s other score coming from the boot of Delon Armitage from a penalty.

Toulon will now bid for their third European Cup title when they play Saracens in the Millennium Stadium on Saturday, May 4th. Saracens beat Clermont Auvergne 46-6 in yesterday’s other Semi-Final played in Twickenham.

TOULON: Delon Armitage; Drew Mitchell, Mathieu Bastareaud, Matt Giteau, Bryan Habana (David Smith); Jonny Wilkinson (capt.), Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Michael Claassens); Xavier Chiocci (Alexandre Menini), Craig Burden (Jean-Charles Orioli), Carl Hayman (Martin Castrogiovanni); Danie Rossouw (Konstantine Mikautadze), Jocelino Suta (Virgile Bruni); Juan Smith, Juan Fernandez Lobbe, Steffon Armitage. Replacement not used: Maxime Mermoz.

MUNSTER: Felix Jones (Denis Hurley); Keith Earls, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley (JJ Hanrahan), Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne ( James Cronin), Damien Varley (capt.) (Duncan Casey), BJ Botha; Dave Foley (Donncha O’Callaghan), Paul O’Connell; CJ Stander, Sean Dougall (Tommy O’Donnell), James Coughlan. Replacements not used: John Ryan, Duncan Williams.

Referee: Wayne Barnes [RFU].