LOCAL ELECTION UPDATE: 8 Clare County Council seats filled

LOCAL ELECTION UPDATE: 8 Clare County Council seats filled



Click here for the Full Election Result (Updated 11pm, Sunday 25 May 2014).

8 of the 28 available seats on Clare County Council have been filled following the first day of counting at the Clare Local Election Count Centre at the West County Hotel.

Of the four electoral areas, only Killaloe has seen its full complement of representatives elected. Joe Cooney (Fine Gael) topped the poll and was elected on the first count. He was followed by Pat Hayes (Fianna Fáil) and Michael Begley (Independent).

Tony O’Brien (Fianna Fáil) from Killaloe retook the seat he lost in 2009 and was joined by newcomer and party colleague Alan O’Callaghan from Kilmurry. Fine Gael’s Pat Burke took the final seat. Outgoing Mayor of Clare and Fine Gael Councillor Joe Arkins lost his seat.

In Killaloe, Fianna Fáil’s Cathal Crowe was elected with a further 5 seats remaining to be filled in the electoral area.

In the Ennis Municipal District, sitting Councillors Brian Meaney (Fianna Fail) and Tony Mulqueen (Fine Gael) have lost their seats with Independent James Breen from Kilnamona being the only elected candidate of 27 so far.

Counting in the West Clare Electoral Area will commence tomorrow morning. The full results may not be known until late Sunday night.