Works approved for 11 more Clare schools

Works approved for 11 more Clare schools



11 additional County Clare schools have been approved funding under the Summer Works Scheme 2014.

The 9 Primary and 2 Secondary schools have successfully secured grants to undertake small scale works following a second round of funding under the scheme. The schools were not originally included in a list of 9 other Clare schools, announced by the Department of Education and Skills in March.

The annual scheme covers school projects such as electrical and mechanical works, roof replacements and repairs, window replacement, toilet upgrades, structural improvements and access works.

The additional Clare schools allocated funds as part of a national programme which sees €35 million invested in a further 386 schools, include St Conaires NS, Shannon (Toilets); and St Flannan’s College, St Anne’s Community College, SN Mhuire, Rineen NS, Annagh NS, SN Mhuire Miliuc, SN Cuan, St Aidans Ns, Sn Realt Na Mara and Coore N.S. (Roof Works).

Clare Fine Gael Senator Tony Mulcahy commented: “I am delighted to see that this year’s Summer Works Scheme will benefit a total of 16 primary schools and 4 post-primary schools across County Clare.  The investment will also create much-needed jobs in the local construction sector.  I now urge schools to ensure that they get best value for money on prices for jobs in the more competitive construction market.”

The Shannon-based Senator said the Government remained committed to delivering improvements in the quality of existing primary and post-primary school accommodation throughout Clare despite the current fiscal constraints.

“I am very pleased to see that 80% of applications submitted for this funding have been approved. Schools in Clare who identify and decide on projects they regard as a priority have a good chance of seeing their applications approved,” Senator Mulcahy concluded.

Primary Schools List (announced in March): Cratloe NS, Scariff Central NS, (Electrical), Killaloe Boys NS, Cooraclare BNS, Scoil Mhichil Cahermurphy, Connolly NS and Kilnaboy NS (Mechanical). Post-Primary Schools List (announced in March): Ennis Community College (Gas) and St Michael’s Community College Kilmihil (Electrical).