Clonlara and Whitegate gain easy wins

Clonlara and Whitegate gain easy wins



Both Clonlara and Whitegate had comfortable wins over Inagh-Kilnamona and Ruan respectively in the Clare Senior Hurling Championship played at the weekend.

INAGHCLONLARAClonlara 5-20 Inagh-Kilnamona 1-11
Venue: Sixmilebridge

The Champions of 08 had it all their own way against Inamona as they notched up an impressive twenty-one point victory. The win sees them secure their place in the quarter finals while Inamona face Ballyea in a winner takes all clash in the final round.

The Combo will be bitterly disappointed with the result as it shows how far back they have fallen in twelve months. They have gone from competing in the final of the Clare Cup to fighting for relegation in the same competition.The gap until the next round gives them time to fix the problems in their team, but the question is, is it enough time?

Clonlara are putting themselves in serious contention for the Canon Hamilton after easily dispatching of both Inamona and Ballyea, two teams that are regulars in the knockout stages. They face Clooney-Quin in the final round, which gives them a chance to experiment and secure top spot in the group.

Clonlara: Ger O Connell, Cillian Fennessy, Shane O Brien, Pat O Hare (0-01), Nicky O Connell (0-02 2f), Oisin O Brien, Domhnall O Donovan, Cormac O Donovan (0-01), Tommy Lynch (0-02), Darach Honan (1-03), Neill Ryan, Colm Galvin (0-02), James Hastings (1-00), John Conlon (2-06 4f), Cathal O Connell. Subs: Ian Galvin for Ryan (0-02) (46:00), Mike White for C O Donovan (0-01) (51:59), Micheal O Loughlin for Hastings (1-00) (52:00), Senan Nihill for O Hare (52:03), Seamus Downey for Fennessy (57:00)
Inagh-Kilnamona: Pa Kelly, Milo Keane, Dermot Lynch, Sean Devitt, David Mc Carthy, Haulie Vaughan, Colm Pilkington, Tomas Kelly (0-02), Kevin Hehir, David Fitzgerald, Eoin Vaughan, Gerry Coote (1-01), Gerry Arthur, Conor Tierney, Niall Arthur (0-06 2f 165). Subs: Evan Mc Namara for Mc Carthy (0-02) (24:00), David Mc Carthy for Fitzgerald (46:00)

Referee: Damien Fox (Wolfe Tones na Sionna).

RUANWHITEGATEWhitegate 3-20 Ruan 1-10
Venue: Tulla

Whitegate recovered well from their three point defeat in the first round at the hands of Éire Óg to bounce back and give the men of Ruan a good trimming. They now move on to face Wolfe Tones in the final round in what will be a tricky encounter, as it stands the Tones are on course to make the quarter finals but they have yet to face the Townies in the second round.

Whitegate could yet find themselves in a relegation battle and having just come out of the intermediate ranks last year, they have no intention of heading straight back.

Ruan will be devastated with the result as they are now in the relegation dogfight and if they lose to the Townies in the final round, they will drop down automatically. Brendan Lyons was a big loss for the Ruan men, but a big worry is the amount of scores they’re conceding. They have conceded a total of 5-38 in their two matches in the Senior B championship and this is definitely a factor in their downfall. Their star man Aidan Lynch was restricted as All Star Brendan Bugler gave up little possession to his opponent.

It looks as though relegation is only a formality for the Ruan men and this is a big disappointment for the club as they’re only out of the intermediate ranks since their victory over Crusheen in 2013.

Whitegate: Andrew Fahy (0-01 1f), John Bugler, Brendan Bugler, Reuben Noyes, John Minouge, Eoin Quirke (0-01), Christy Jones, Eoin Patterson (0-01), Colm Madden, Shane O Rourke (0-01), George Waterstone (0-06 3f), Colin Burke (1-02), Patrick Burke (2-03), Ian Fahy (0-03), Mike O Brien (0-01). Subs: Patrick Minouge for O Rourke (45:00), Thomas Mc Namara for Patterson (0-01) (51:00), Paul O Rourke for O Brien (51:00)
Ruan: Pakie Roughan, Gary Bell, Niall O Connor, Michael Lyons, Caimin Howard, Jonathan Clohessy, Darragh Roughan, Conal Ó hAiniféin, Sean Cullinan, Killian Ryan, Mikey Vaughan (1-04 165), Tadgh Hanrahan (0-03), Eoin Hanrahan, Aidan Lynch (0-03), Patrick Keegan. Subs: Colm Rice for E Hanrahan (Inj) (21:00), Liam O Donovan for D Roughan (43:00).

Referee: Jim Hickey (Cratloe)