Clare girls to line out against Denmark

Clare girls to line out against Denmark


Aslinn Meaney (Lifford)
Aslinn Meaney (Lifford)

Two Clare girls have been named in the Republic of Ireland Women’s U17 side to face Denmark in two friendly games at Home Farm FC’s Whitehall ground this evening.

Dave Connell’s side will meet the Danes at 7.00pm and again on Thursday afternoon (12.00pm) as they build up their preparations for the campaign ahead.

Chloe Moloney (Connolly Celtic) and Aslinn Meaney (Lifford) are named in a 24-player squad.

” The qualifiers in Serbia are coming up on the horizon and these games against Denmark will be very useful preparation,” said Connell.

“We’ve brought in 24 players to have a look at them. Our regular keeper Amanda McQuillan broke her thumb and Jamie Finn from Shels has a stress fracture so they are both out but we’re hopeful they’ll be fit for the qualifiers.

“We’re using it as an exercise to look at players. We will want to win of course but it’s about looking at players. It’s going to be tough there’s no doubt. These are in a full-time academy and working together a long time but we’ve worked hard over the last couple of days to prepare.”

Ireland travel to Serbia in October for the UEFA WU17 Championships first qualifying stage. Their Group 4 fixtures (October 17–22) will see them face the Serbs, Lithuania and Romania.

The ten group winners, ten runners-up and the third-placed side with the best record against the top two in their section will accompany the three top seeds into the elite round. Seven countries will eventually qualify for the finals to join Iceland from 22 June–4 July 2015.

Chloe Moloney (Connolly Celtic)
Aslinn Meaney (Lifford)
Nadine Ryan (Shelbourne)
Fiona Donnelly (Shelbourne)
Courtney Higgins (Shelbourne)
Sophie Waters (Shelbourne)
Chloe Flynn (Shelbourne)
Niamh Prior (St Josephs)
Dearbhaile Beirne  (Shelbourne)
Niamh Farrelly (Peamount Utd)
Lauryn O’Callaghan (Peamount Utd)
Lucy McCarton (Peamount Utd)
Eleanor Ryan Doyle (Peamount Utd)
Gemma Berry (Peamount Utd)
Danielle Murray (Peamount Utd)
Zoe McGlynn (Lagan Harps)
Evelyn Daly (Lakewood)
Katie Miley (Newtown Juniors)
Leah Reybet Degat (Shelbourne)
Sarah McKevitt (Peake Villa)
Cliona Murphy (Ferrybank)
Aoife McColgan (Illies Celtic)
Sarah Baynes (Castlebar Celtic)

Tuesday, September 23
Women’s U17 International Friendly
Republic of Ireland v Denmark, Home Farm FC (7.00pm)

Thursday, September 25
Women’s U17 International Friendly
Republic of Ireland v Denmark, Home Farm FC (12.00pm)