Caimins Collect First Win Of Harty Campaign

Caimins Collect First Win Of Harty Campaign


Action from the St Caimins vs Our Ladys Templemore clash
Action from the St Caimins vs Our Ladys Templemore clash

St Caimins Community School 2-15 Our Ladys Templemore 1-10
Venue: Mc Donagh Park, Nenagh

St Caimins of Shannon secured their first win in the 2014/15 Harty Cup competition with a comprehensive seven point victory over Tipperary rivals, Our Ladys Templemore.

The win gives St Caimins their first two points in the group stages after their two point defeat to Youghal in the second round.

The campaign so far has been a mixed bag for Templemore, like St Caimins it was two points that separated them and Youghal, while they had three points to spare over Charleville the last day out.

The Shannon side raced into an early two point lead but Templemore cut the deficit with ten minutes played. Indiscipline on the part of St Caimins allowed the maroon and white side back into the tie and they took the lead with half time fast approaching due to consecutive frees sailing over the bar.

However, points from Aron Shanagher and Ben O Gorman gave St Caimins a one point lead heading in at the break.

Aron Shanagher hits straight between the posts
Aron Shanagher hits straight between the posts

Words of wisdom from former Clare hurling trainer, Paul Kinnerk and renowned entrepreneur and former Loughrea manager, Padraic Duddy seemed to have an impact on the St Caimins getting off the mark first in the second half. White flags from Wolfe Tones players Jack Cunningham and Daragh Mc Mahon increased their lead. Templemore stayed in the fight and added more frees to lower the gap.

The North East Tipp side took the lead after Lyndon Fairbrother fired an unstoppable shot past Jack O Connor in the Caimins net. This appeared to be a wakeup call for the 2009 finalists as fine long range points from Ben O Gorman and Pa Mulready cut the gap to one point. The turning point in the game was of course a goal from Rory Hayes, he was greatly aided by Ben O Gorman running straight through the Templemore defence like a hot knife through butter before offloading and Hayes tucked the sliotar in the bottom left corner of David O Shea’s goal. Further points from O Gorman, Shanagher and Cunningham gave Caimins some breathing space.

An unmarked Cathaoir Agnew was picked out excellenty by the Caimins defence and Agnew slotted past the Templemore netminder to put the icing on the cake.

Frustration got to the Templemore outfit and they lashed out with a series of fouls and ended up finishing the contest with fourteen players.

St CaiminsThe maroon and white will bemoan the lack of scoring chances they created. After taking the lead with a second half goal, they should have pushed on however they didn’t.

When Caimins regained the lead, Templemore dropped the heads and became frustrated. They will need to bounce back for their remaining fixture against Rochestown. Defensively they will have to tighten up at the back and the amount of turnovers won was a low amount. It looks unlikely at this stage that they will make the knockout stages yet, but they will need to bring their performance up another level if they’re to qualify. Best for Templemore were, Martin Delaney, Stephen Nolan, Lyndon Fairbrother and Anthony Ryan.

Work rate and determination, two key elements of St Caimins’ performance and areas were they far more superior in comparison to Templemore. Despite losing the lead and giving away some absurd frees, Caimins never lost the heads and more importantly never gave up. Their remaining games will be of a higher standard and they will need to build on this result and will need to retain more possession up front as on too many occasions, Templemore were cleaning their lines without sufficient pressure being put on them.

It is hoped St Caimins will be representing Clare in the knockout stages of the Harty Cup and while nothing has been achieved yet, it is certainly within their capability of getting past the group stages. Cathal Lynch, Pa Mulready, Ben O Gorman and Liam O Connor were to the fore for the Shannon school.

St Caimins: Jack O Connor (Newmarket on Fergus), Ciaran O Connor (Cratloe), Cathal Lynch (Sixmilebridge), Liam O Connor (Newmarket on Fergus), Greg Collins (Newmarket on Fergus), Pa Mulready (0-01) (Sixmilebridge), Colin Guilfoyle (Newmarket on Fergus), Dean Devanney (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Jack Cunningham (0-02) (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Rory Hayes (1-00) (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Ben O Gorman (0-04) (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Daragh Mc Mahon (0-01) (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Eoin Flynn (Sixmilebridge), Aron Shanagher (0-07 7f) (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Cathaoir Agnew (1-00) (Sixmilebridge). Subs: Brian O Connor (Wolfe Tones na Sionna) for Flynn (40:00), Sean Costelloe (Wolfe Tones na Sionna) for Collins (58:00), Cathal Hayes (Newmarket on Fergus) for Agnew (58:00).

Our Ladys Templemore: David O Shea (JK Brackens), Eoin Ryan (Loughmore Castleiney), Diarmuid Ryan (Clonakenny), Martin Delaney (JK Brackens), Ciaran Thorpe (Drom/Inch), Brian Mc Grath (Loughmore Castleiney), Emmett Maloney (Drom/Inch), Anthony Ryan (Loughmore Castleiney), Tom Murphy (JK Brackens), Kevin Hassett (Drom/Inch), Stephen Nolan (Drom/Inch), Jamie Morrissey (Moyne Templetuohy), Jordan Moloney (JK Brackens), Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens). Subs: Ross Donnelly (Moyne Templetuohy) for Murphy (50) Paul Bergin (Drom/Inch) for Morrissey (50:00).