Burren Tourism Awards take place in Doolin

Burren Tourism Awards take place in Doolin


Mary Birmingham, Tony Kirby, Darra & Niall Hughes, Chris O'Neill, John Ryan, Ger Dollard. Photo Philip GousseauThe 2014 Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark Life Awards Night took place on Thursday night (4 December) at Hotel Doolin.

The annual awards scheme recognises achievements and examples of good practice in the development of sustainable tourism throughout the Burren region.

Tourism operators and businesses competed in two separate award schemes, namely the Geopark Sustainable Code of Practice for Tourism Awards and Burren Ecotourism Network Member Awards.

Carol Gleeson, Project Manager, Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark, which itself has recorded numerous award successes for promoting sustainable tourism, commented: “These awards help to promote and give official recognition to the wide range of fantastic work that is ongoing throughout the Burren through sustainable business practices. The awards also help us to monitor progress in relation to the Geopark Sustainable Code of Practice for Tourism programme.”

‚ÄúSince 2008, Clare County Council has been working in the Burren to develop a truly sustainable tourism destination that gives direct benefits to the local community, promotes and celebrates local culture and produce, preserves the environment and provides a great experience for our visitors. This has been achieved with great support and partnership from local communities and businesses and agencies responsible for tourism and conservation and local development. These awards reward those who have contributed to this process,” Ms. Gleeson added.

GeoparkLIFE Awards:
Visitor Interpretation – Burren Nature Sanctuary Leave No Trace, Burren Nature Sanctuary Contribution to Conservation, Cliffs of Moher Visitor Experience Visitor Communication, Sea View House
Visitor Communication (Outdoor) – Tony Kirby, Heart of Burren Walks Energy Management, Boghill Centre Waste Management, Burren Free Range Pork Water Management, Cafe Linnalla
Contribution to Community – Kilshanny House Promotion of Sustainable Tourism, St Tola’s Goat Farm Best Improvement, Doolin Hostel Sustainable Business of the Year, Boghill Centre.

Burren Ecotourism Network Member Awards:
Committee of the Year – Burren Food Trail
Networker of the Year – Martin Waldron (Cragmoher House)
Member of the Year – Boghill Centre