Double award success for Clare GAA

Double award success for Clare GAA


Cratloe dual player Podge Collins (LEFT) and Clare's Seadhna Morey. Images by SPORTSFILE
Cratloe dual player Podge Collins (LEFT) and Clare’s Seadna Morey. Images by SPORTSFILE

Cratloe have been named Club of the Year for 2014 Clare and Sixmilebridge hurling star Seadna Morey of Clare has been named as winner of the under 21 hurling category in the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards.

The awards will be presented at Munster GAA’s annual award ceremony which will take place at Dromoland Castle, Co. Clare this Saturday, December 13.

Cratloe pick up the award following their success in winning both the Clare senior hurling and football titles. They subsequently bowed out of the AIB Munster club campaigns as a result of extra time defeats in the football semi-final and hurling final. It was a long but rewarding year for an exceptional club.

Cork star, Jennifer O’Leary has been announced as the winner of the Camogie Award for the 2014 Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards. She has been a key member of Cork Camogie teams for over a decade, has won 8 All Star awards and her goal in this year’s All Ireland final helped turn the game in Cork’s favour.

The Ladies Football Award goes to another Cork lady, Angela Walsh who played a big part in Cork’s thrilling All Ireland final comeback and victory over Dublin.  A dual ladies football and camogie player, she represents the Inch Rovers club. Her list of successes is extraordinary and among them are 10 Munster senior football titles, 9 All Ireland senior titles and 6 All Star awards.

The Handball Award goes to the Mullins brothers – Pakie, Billy, Jimmy and Kevin from Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. They have been involved in competitive handball as far back as 1970, have represented Tipperary and Munster on numerous occasions and won 5 Munster titles between them in 2014.

Other 2014 award winners announced today are Alan Cadogan of Cork for under 21 football; Tom Morrissey of Limerick who receives the minor hurling award and Matthew Flaherty of Kerry who receives the minor football award.

Munster GAA Chairman and Clare man Robert Frost said “I would like to congratulate Jennifer, Angela, the Mullins brothers and Cratloe on their well-deserved awards following their outstanding displays during 2014. They have set very high standards of achievement in their varied contributions to the family of Gaelic Games”