Second Successive Defeat For Clare Hurlers

Second Successive Defeat For Clare Hurlers


clare gaa jerseyCork 1-24
Clare 0-17
Venue: Páirc Uí Rinn

Ten points was the difference between the sides as Clare slumped to their second defeat in the National Hurling League.

After a positive start which saw Davy Fitzgerald’s men lead 0-09 to 0-06 after twenty three minutes, a goal from Midleton’s Luke O’Farrell swung momentum and the tie in favour of the Rebels.

Cork went from strength to strength following the resumption and had it not been for Patrick Kelly in the Clare goal, the result could have been a lot worse. The Rebels kept the scoreboard ticking over in the second half while this was something their opponents were unable to do.

Over the seventy minutes Cork were the superior outfit and were hungry to make amends following a two point defeat to Kilkenny in the opening round. Losing a second home game in a row would have put some degree of pressure on Jimmy Barry-Murphy and this desire was evident as they ensured the Banner men did not score from play for the last twenty five minutes of the clash. They now travel to Croke Park in two weeks time to take on Dublin managed by former Cork selector Ger Cunningham.

Clare’s start to the NHL has left a lot to be desired, but they have shown glimpses of what they’re capable of. The job of Davy Fitzgerald and Co is to extend the length of those glimpses. A lot of so-called Clare ‘fans’ have not been shy in giving their opinion following the latest defeat, however it’s far too early for some of the comments being made. Having two away matches to commence the NHL has not been ideal and the Banner now find themselves with their backs to the wall and those with relatively decent memories will know that Clare can and will bounce back from the latest setback.

Cork: Anthony Nash (Kanturk) (0-01 1f), Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Cormac Murphy (Mallow) (0-01), Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields) (0-01), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), Conor Lehane (Midleton) (0-04), Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s) (0-01), Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline), Alan Cadogan (Douglas) (0-01), Luke O’Farrell (Midleton) (1-01), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers) (0-14 8f 165). Subs: Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for O’Shea (58), Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown) for Walsh (58), Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons) for Horgan (65).

Clare: Patrick Kelly (Inagh/Kilnamona), Domhnall O’Donovan (Clonlara), Cian Dillon (Crusheen), Jack Browne (Ballyea), Conor Ryan (Cratloe), Conor Cleary (Kilmaley), Patrick O’Connor (Tubber), Brendan Bugler (Whitegate), Colm Galvin (Clonlara), Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghans Mills), Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus), Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle), John Conlon (Clonlara), Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg), David Reidy (Éire Óg). Subs: Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge) for O’Donovan (34), Conor McGrath (Cratloe) for Reidy (HT), Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge) for Cleary (51), Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Donnellan (51) Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara) for Duggan (64).

Referee: Johnny Ryan (Tipperary).