Clare girls star for Irish U17 side

Clare girls star for Irish U17 side


Aislinn Meaney of Lifford (left) and Chloe Maloney of Connolly Celtic (right)
Aislinn Meaney of Lifford (left) and Chloe Maloney of Connolly Celtic (right)

Two Clare girls starred for the Republic of Ireland Women’s U17 side in their clash with Iceland at the weekend.

Chloe Maloney from Quilty (Connolly Celtic) and Aslinn Meaney (Lifford) were in the starting eleven for Ireland’s game.

Substitute Dearbhaile Beirne blasted home the only goal of the game to give the Republic of Ireland Women’s U17 team a second successive victory over Iceland at the AUL Complex.

The win ensures that Dave Connell’s squad will head to next month’s UEFA European Championship Elite Phase in Cork with a spring in their step after two morale boosting back to back wins over the team that will be hosting this summer’s finals.

Ireland now head to the UEFA European Women’s U17 Championship Elite Phase where they will face England, Hungary and Netherlands in Cork from April 9 to 14.

Republic of Ireland: Nadine Ryan (GK); Lauryn O’Callaghan, Courtney Higgins, Jamie Finn (C),Niamh Prior, Evelyn Daly, Sarah McKevitt, Eleanor Ryan Doyle, Saoirse Noonan, Aislinn Meaney, Chloe Maloney. Subs Used: Dearbhaile Beirne for Meaney (55), Jessica Nolan for McKevitt (55), Danielle Murray for Ryan Doyle (73), Sophie Watters for Prior (80). Unused Subs: Louise Creaven (GK), Fiona Donnelly, Zoe McGlynn.

Iceland: Ingibjorg Valgeirsdotiir (GK); Katrin M Kristinsdotti, Selma S Magnusdottir, Eyvor H Jonsdottir, Anna R Petursdottir, Jasmine E Ingadottir, Aglam Albertsdottir, Andrea M Palsdottir (C), Andrea Celeste Diaz, Kristin Disarnadottir, Stefania A Tryggvadottir. Subs Used: Kristin T H Birgisdottir for Disarnadottir (64), Elena Brynjarsdottir for Celeste Diaz (73), Melkorka K Petursdottir for Tryggvadottir (73), Harpa Johannsdottir (GK) for Valgeirsdotiir (75). Unused Subs: Ingibjorg R Oladottir, Isold K Runarsdottir, Asdis K Halldorsdottir, Harpa Johannsdottir

Referee: Matthew Farrell (Republic of Ireland).