McInerney To Make First Start For Footballers

McInerney To Make First Start For Footballers


Cathal McInerney 1

Cratloe’s Cathal McInerney will make his first starting appearance for the Clare Footballers since departing Davy Fitzgerald’s Hurling panel over six months ago.

McInerney’s inclusion is the only change to the Clare team that suffered a six point versus Armagh. Éire Óg’s Ciarán Russell is ruled out with an ankle injury, Shane Hickey moves from centre-forward to wing-back as a result. Podge Collins starts at centre-forward and McInerney is named at number thirteen in the team.

Doonbeg’s David Tubridy has yet to shake off a groin problem while Eoin Cleary is still recovering following an ankle operation. Enda Coughlan has returned to competitive action after overcoming a cruciate ligament injury and he may feature for the Banner at some stage.

Clare take on Limerick at 15:00 this Sunday in Newcastlewest in Round Six of the Allianz National Football League. Kerry’s Sean Joy is the man in the middle for the tie. A Clare win sees Colm Collins side secure their place in Division Three for 2015 while defeat for the Treaty County sees them relegated.

Clare Team:
1: Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)
2: Martin McMahon (Kilmurry/Ibrickane)
3: Kevin Hartnett (Meelick)
4: Dean Ryan (Éire Óg)
5: Jamie Malone (Corofin)
6: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
7: Shane Hickey (Kilmurry/Ibrickane)
8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
10: Seán Collins (Cratloe)
11: Pádraic Collins (Cratloe)
12: Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis)
13: Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
14: Shane Brennan (Clondegad)
15: Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes).