Banner Fail To Score From Play In Minor Defeat

Banner Fail To Score From Play In Minor Defeat


gaelic football

Clare suffered an eleven point defeat in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Quarter-Final, losing to reigning All-Ireland champions Kerry.

Kerry 0-14
Clare 0-03
Venue: Austin Stack Park, Tralee.

In a pedestrian affair, the Kieran Kelleher managed Clare failed to score from play over the hour in what was a comfortable victory for the All-Ireland champions.

Kerry dominated the entire contest and led 0-10 to 0-01 at half-time. Clare’s only score coming from the boot of Kilmurry/Ibrickane’s Keelan Sexton.

Luckily for the Banner, Kerry’s wide count was high as they hit thirteen wides over the sixty minutes, so while things were bad for Clare it could have been a lot worse.

Only Mark O’Connor started both the 2014 All-Ireland final versus Donegal and last night’s encounter, but Kerry manager Jack O’Connor still has plenty of talent at his disposal with Conor Geaney, Stephen O’Sullivan and Jason Foley doing well.

It’s a case of regrouping immediately for Clare as they will get a second bite of the cherry on Wednesday April 29th against the winners of Limerick vs Waterford with a place in the Munster semi-final on the line.

Kerry: Billy Courtney (Dr Crokes) (0-01 1f), Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla), Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle), Gavin White (Dr Crokes) (0-01), Mike Breen (Beaufort), Daniel O’Brien (Glenfesk), Mark O’Connor (Dingle) (0-01), John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan), Brian O’Seánacháin (Ballydonoghue), Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets) (0-01), Sean O’Shea (Kenmare), Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe) (0-02), Cormac Linnane (Beale) (0-02 1f), Conor Geaney (Dingle) (0-04). Subs: Evan Cronin (Spa) (0-01) for Linnane (44), Dara O’Shea for T O’Sullivan (52), Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses) for White (52), Brandon Barrett (Ardfert) for S O’Shea (54), Michael Foley (Spa) (0-01) for S O’Sullivan (54), Ronan Buckley (Listrey) for JM Foley (57).

Clare: Killian Roche (Cooraclare) (0-01 1f), Kieran Killeen (Kilmurry/Ibrickane), Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey), Colm Pyne (Killimer), Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare), Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin), Colin Hehir (Miltown Malbay), Killian Burke (Cooraclare), Sean O’Donoghue (Cooraclare), Conor O’Halloran (Éire Óg), Cormac Murray (Miltown Malbay), Páraic McNamara (Kilmaley), Eoghan Tubridy (Doonbeg), Alan Sweeney (St Breckans), Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry/Ibrickane) (0-02 2f). Subs: Cillian Brennan (Clondegad) for Burke (HT), Nigel Murray (O’Currys) for McNamara (HT), Jack Morrissey (Cooraclare) for Tubridy (41), Rory McMahon (Kildysart) for Pyne (54), David Foran (Killimer) for Sweeney (54).

Referee: John Ryan (Cork).