Clare and Tipperary name teams for Minor semi-final

Clare and Tipperary name teams for Minor semi-final


gaa hurling 2Clare Minor Hurling manager, Kenny Morrissey has named his starting fifteen for the Munster semi-final that takes place this Wednesday evening.

Nine of the 2014 panel make the starting fifteen, Morrissey and his management team are hoping the pain of defeat to Waterford at this juncture last year will drive them on. Jason Loughnane, Declan Power, Darren Chaplin, Colm Fitzgerald, Jack Cunningham, Aron Shanagher, Mikey O’Shea, Jason McCarthy and Conor O’Halloran are the nine survivors from 2014 awarded starting spots.

Sixmilebridge netminder, Jason Loughnane was arguably Clare’s standout performer during the Banner’s disappointing showing in 2014 and he retains the number one jersey. Perched in front of him is a full-back line of Declan Power, Sean Phelan and Ronan Monahan. Captain Nathan Fox leads the side from centre-back and the Parteen man is joined by Darren Chaplin and Cathal Noonan in the half-back line.

Colm Fitzgerald and Jack Cunningham join forces in the centre of the park. The trio of Aron Shanagher, Mikey O’Shea and Jason McCarthy are named in the half-forward line and this appears to be Clare’s strongest line in the team. Feakle’s Martin Daly looks set to start on the edge of the square flanked by Páraic O’Loughlin and Conor O’Halloran.

Kilmaley are well represented in Clare’s substitutes with the Kennedy’s Sean and Aidan along with Páraic McNamara options in attack. Dual-star Pearse Lillis is an option in defence as is Newmarket-on-Fergus’ Colin Guilfoyle, his clubmate Liam O’Connor is a surprise omission from the named twenty four despite showing well in recent matches for the Blues’ Senior side.

Tipperary manager Liam Cahill has made three changes from the team that had one point to spare over Waterford in the quarter-final outing eleven weeks ago.

All three changes come in the Premier County’s attack. Having scored only 1-03 from play in their quarter-final win, Cahill is eager to increase that tally when they meet the Banner and so Tommy Nolan, Garry Ryan and Lyndon Fairbrother enter the fray with Shane Neville, Ross Peters and goal-scorer Ruadhan Mulrooney making way.

1: Jason Loughnane (Sixmilebridge)
2: Declan Power (Smith O’Briens)
3: Sean Phelan (Broadford)
4: Ronan Monahan (Tubber)
5: Darren Chaplin (Broadford)
6: Nathan Fox (Parteen)
7: Cathal Noonan (Killanena)
8: Colm Fitzgerald (Sixmilebridge)
9: Jack Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
10: Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
11: Mikey O’Shea (Smith O’Briens)
12: Jason McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona)
13: Páraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara)
14: Martin Daly (Feakle)
15: Conor O’Halloran (Éire Óg).

1: Padraig Hayes (Ballingarry)
2: Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore)
3: Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)
4: James Quigley (Kildangan)
5: Jack Skehan (Holycross Ballycahill)
6: Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
7: Darragh Peters (Kilruane McDonaghs)
8: Darragh Carey (Templederry Kenyons)
9: Alan Tynan (Roscrea)
10: Liam McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons)
11: Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers)
12: Garry Ryan (Borrisokane)
13: Tommy Nolan (Drom & Inch)
14: David Gleeson (Ballinahinch)
15: Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens).