Moloney names team for U21 semi-final

Moloney names team for U21 semi-final


Shane O'Donnell is named at corner-forward for the Clare U21's. Picture: John Meyler
Shane O’Donnell is named at corner-forward for the Clare U21’s. Picture: John Meyler

Five Clare Senior Hurling panellists have been included in Donal Moloney’s starting fifteen for Wednesday’s U21 Munster semi-final.

Captain Conor Cleary, Shane O’Donnell, Bobby Duggan, David Conroy and Ryan Taylor are the members of the Senior panel named to start while Kilmaley’s Michael O’Malley a member of the extended Senior panel has to settle for the number twenty jersey.

Only five players featured in the 2014 All-Ireland final, namely; Keith Hogan, Cleary, O’Donnell, Duggan and Shane O’Brien. A further six included in the starting fifteen were part of last year’s panel and their experience of being involved with that setup is very valuable as the hours near until throw-in.

Ian Galvin, younger brother of Colm is part of a trio who played Minor for Clare in 2014 and now make the step-up to knockout inter-county hurling. Full-back David Fitzgerald and promising Wolfe Tones clubman Ben O’Gorman were also part of the Eamon Fennessy managed side that fell to Waterford at the semi-final stage.

Keith Hogan starts between the posts and lining out in front of the Clooney/Quin man is a full-back line of Eoin Quirke, Fitzgerald and Shane O’Brien. Conor Cleary captains the side from centre-back and he is flanked by Aidan McGuane and Ben O’Gorman.

Doora/Barefield’s David Conroy is partnered by Kevin Hehir in the middle of the park. Two of Clare’s most exciting attackers Bobby Duggan and Ian Galvin are included in a half-forward line along with County medallist Shane Gleeson. Shane O’Donnell will wear the number thirteen jersey and he is accompanied in the inside line by the pacy duo of Stephen Ward and Ryan Taylor.

Throw-in for Wednesday’s game is 19:30 in Cusack Park with Limerick’s Johnny Murphy taking charge of proceedings.

1. Keith Hogan (Clooney Quin)
2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)
4. Shane O’Brien (Clonlara)
5. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
7. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)
8. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
9. Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona)
10. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
11. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe)
12. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
14. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
15. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
16: Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)
17: Brian Carey (Sixmilebridge)
18: Liam Corry (Éire Óg)
19: Shane Taylor (Broadford)
20: Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley)
21: Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
22: Diarmuid Moloney (Broadford)
23: Colin Crehan (O’Callaghans Mills)
24: Niall Deasy (Ballyea)