Moloney names unchanged side for Munster Final

Moloney names unchanged side for Munster Final


Stephen Ward is named to play in the Clare full-forward line
Stephen Ward is named to play in the Clare full-forward line. Picture: David Crimmins

Clare U21 manager, Donal Moloney has named an unchanged starting team from the side that defeated Waterford in the Munster semi-final for Thursday evening’s final.

Clooney/Quin’s Keith Hogan stands between the posts and is just one of four with Munster Final experience. Lining out in front of Hogan is a full-back line of Shane O’Brien, David Fitzgerald and Eoin Quirke.

Captain Conor Cleary leads the side from the centre-back position and he is flanked by Aidan McGuane and Ben O’Gorman in what was arguably Clare’s strongest line on the field in the two point semi-final victory over the two point semi-final victory over the Déise.

Both Bobby Duggan and Ian Galvin were on fire in the Banner’s last outing notching a tally of nineteen points. The pair will start as wing-forwards with Cratloe’s Shane Gleeson selected in between them at centre-forward.

Shane O’Donnell is named in the full-forward line alongside Stephen Ward and Ryan Taylor. O’Donnell is named at thirteen but is expected to be on the edge of the square with Clarecastle’s Ward tipped to play out the field.

Limerick have made one change from the team that had two points to spare over Tipperary in the semi-final clash played two weeks ago. John Kiely has handed Pallagreen’s Colin Ryan a starting position at corner-forward as Kevin O’Brien misses out through injury. Cian Lynch is also named in the full-forward line while Robbie Hanley has moved to centre-forward with Ronan Lynch diverted to the wing.

1. Keith Hogan (Clooney Quin)
4. Shane O’Brien (Clonlara)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)
2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
5. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
7. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)
8. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
9. Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona)
10. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
11. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe)
12. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
14. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
15. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)

1 David McCarthy (Glenroe)
2 Mark O’Callaghan (Knockaderry)
3 Richie English (Doon)
4 Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
5 Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)(Vice Captain)
6 Barry O’Connell (Kildimo Pallaskenry)(Captain)
7 Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
8 Darragh O Donovan (Doon)
9 Pat Ryan (Doon)
10 Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
11 Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)
12 David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh),
13 Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
14 Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
15 Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)