Sixmilebridge qualify for Clare SHC Final

Sixmilebridge qualify for Clare SHC Final


Shane Golden tries to get past the challenge of Cathal Dillon. Picture: John Meyler
Shane Golden tries to get past the challenge of Cathal Dillon. Picture: John Meyler

Sixmilebridge survived a second half fightback from Crusheen to secure their place in the final of the Clare Senior Hurling Championship.

Sixmilebridge 3-21
Crusheen 3-13
Venue: Cusack Park

The 2013 Champions dominated the opening half and led by ten points at the break with Jamie Shanahan and Shane Golden raising green flags. Conor O’Donnell hit the back of Derek’s Fahy net to give Crusheen a bit of momentum heading in at the break.

Crusheen maintained this momentum after the resumption with Fergus Kennedy hitting two goals while points from Cian Dillon, Gearoid O’Donnell and Cathal Dillon cut the deficit to two points with forty five minutes played.

Sixmilebridge refused to sound any alarms as they had an immediate reply through Shane Golden who picked up his second goal of the contest. Niall Gilligan and Cathal Malone added a brace of points to ensure their unbeaten streak in all competitive games in 2015 remains intact.

As always Crusheen refused to give up without a fight and they deserve praise for this. Sixmilebridge will have to wait another week to find out who their final opponents will be. John O’Meara’s side have showed in their last two contests that they are able to withhold a fight from the opposition and this characteristic will prove invaluable in their third County Final in five years.

Sixmilebridge: Derek Fahy; Barry Fitzpatrick, Aidan Quilligan, Tadgh Keogh; Noel Purcell, Caimin Morey, Paidi Fitzpatrick; Seadna Morey (0-01), Shane Golden (2-00); Cathal Malone (0-05), Niall Gilligan (0-07 7f), Conor Deasy (0-04); Jamie Shanahan (1-00), Brian Carey (0-01), Alex Morey (0-02). Subs: Brian Corry for A Morey (40), Pa Sheehan (0-01) for Keogh (47), Gavin Whyte for Carey (56), Pa Mulready for Gilligan (60).

Crusheen: Donal Tuohy; Mark Perill, Gerry O’Grady, Alan Brigdale; Shaun Dillon, Cian Dillon, Cathal Dillon; Ciaran O’Doherty, Darragh O’Doherty; Alan Tuohy, Fergus Kennedy, Gearoid O’Donnell; Conor O’Donnell, Paddy Vaughan, Colin Vaughan. Subs: Paddy O’Grady for P Vaughan (57), Cillian Mullins for A Tuohy (61), Sean Weir for Cathal Dillon (61), Rory Halpin for D O’Doherty (61).

Referee: Ger Hoey (Killanena)

Reporting by Páraic McMahon