2016 Clare Senior Hurling Management Team and Panel is announced

2016 Clare Senior Hurling Management Team and Panel is announced


Pic John Meyler
Pic John Meyler

Clare Senior Hurling Manager Davy Fitzgerald today announced details of his management team and provisional panel for 2016.

Michael Browne (selector)
Louis Mulqueen (selector)
Donal Óg Cusack (coach/selector)
Aonghus O’Brien (coach)
Seoirse Bulfin (coach)
Kelvin Harold (strength and conditioning)
Jimmy Payne (strength and conditioning)

Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona), Donal Tuohy (Crusheen), Andrew Fahy (Whitegate), Paul Flanagan (Ballyea), Cian Dillon (Crusheen), Seadhna Morey (Sixmilebridge), Jack Browne (Ballyea), Brendan Bugler (Whitegate), David McInerney (Tulla), Pat O’Connor (Tubber), Conor Ryan (Cratloe), Conor Cleary (Kilmaley/Miltown), Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea), Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills), Domhnall O’Donovan (Clonlara), Eoin O’Brien (Newmarket-On-Fergus), Colm Galvin (Clonlara), Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge), Colin Ryan (Newmarket-On-Fergus), John Conlon (Clonlara), Peter Duggan (Clooney Quin), David Reidy (Éire Óg), Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg), Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle), Darach Honan (Clonlara), Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen), Tony Kelly (Ballyea), Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge), David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Podge Collins (Cratloe), Conor McGrath (Cratloe), Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna).

Clare Senior Hurling Manager, Davy Fitzgerald said: “I am delighted to welcome Donal Óg, Aonghus and Jimmy to the setup. Their collective experience and expertise will further strengthen the already high quality backroom team in place.”

“Over the next few weeks, there may be one or two additions announced to the backroom team and the panel.  It is my intention to finalise the Provisional panel at the end of January ahead of the commencement of the Allianz National Hurling League,” added Fitzgerald.

Introduction to new members of the Clare Senior Hurling Management Team:

Donal Óg Cusack from Cloyne, County Cork, won Minor, Under 21 and three All-Ireland Senior medals, five Munster Senior medals and two All-Star awards as goalkeeper with the Cork Senior Hurling Team.

Commenting on his new role with the Clare Senior Hurling Team, Donal Óg said: “I am looking forward to the challenge and want to thank Davy Fitzgerald for the opportunity.

“Ahead of assuming my coaching position in Clare, I have met with RTE and following mutual agreement I have been released from my contract. I would like to sincerely thank RTE for the experience they have given me.

“I will be seeing out my term as Chairperson of the Gaelic Players Association (GPA) which will come to an end this year.

“I have also spoken with my local club, Cloyne to confirm my decision to retire from club hurling. I would like to thank the club for the support it has shown me throughout my career,” added Donal Óg.

Aonghus O’Brien is a native of Broadford in East Clare, where he is Principal of Broadford N.S. Aonghus has previously represented Clare in intercounty hurling. He held a coaching role with Limerick during the county’s minor success of 2013.

Jimmy Payne from Waterford has previously worked with Davy Fitzgerald during his tenure as Waterford Senior Hurling team manager.  He has also held the role of Strength and Conditioning Coach with various rugby, basketball and soccer teams, as well as the Laois Senior Hurling Team and Cork Senior Football Team. As an International Performance Boxing Coach and Tutor for 10 years with the IABA, he has worked with Olympic silver medallist John Joe Nevin, Olympic gold medallist Ryan Burnett, and twice European Champion and World Silver Medallist Joe Ward. He is also the winner of 4 national boxing titles.

Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald. Pic John Meyler Photography
Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald. Pic John Meyler Photography