Clare draw Oscar Traynor opener against Galway

Clare draw Oscar Traynor opener against Galway


Clare Captain Paddy Purcell pictured (second from left) ahead of Friday night's game. Pic c/o Clare District Soccer League
Clare Captain Paddy Purcell pictured (second from left) ahead of Friday night’s game. Pic c/o Clare District Soccer League

Oscar Traynor Trophy
Galway 1-1 Clare
For the fourth time in 4 years Clare and Galway played out a draw in the Oscar Traynor Trophy and just like previous meetings it was Galway who struck late to earn a share of the points.

Overall a draw was a fair result but Clare will rue some missed chances after taking the lead that ultimately cost them the victory on the night.

The first chance of the game fell to David McCarthy on 5 minutes after good work from Stephen Kelly on the edge of the box but his effort missed the target. Galway’s first chance arrived on 12 minutes after Joe Collins was dispossessed but Eoin Whelan made a good tackle in the box to prevent Gerry Dolan from shooting.

A good run from Colin Smyth on 15 minutes and through ball to McCarthy was cut out by a good tackle from Joe Woods. Galway broke quickly from the back and Simon Walsh played a good ball to Dolan who was denied by a great save from John Mulready. Collins had an effort for Clare on 19 minutes after a good run and turn on the edge of the box but his shot went over the bar.

Clare took the lead on 23 minutes when Smyth made a good run down the right wing and crossed for McCarthy to finish brilliantly with the outside of his boot to the back of the Galway net. Clare had a great chance to go 2 clear on 27 minutes when Daragh Corry crossed well from the right wing to Joe Collins inside the box but his effort went straight at James Keane in the Galway goal who saved well.

Galway had an effort from Martin Coady go over the bar on 31 minutes but Mulready had it well covered. McCarthy and Kelly linked up well again on 38 minutes and this time Kelly’s shot went over the bar from the edge of the box. Coady had another chance for Galway on 41 minutes but the sting was taken out of the shot by a good tackle from Corry and Mulready got down well to make the save. Right on half time Galway had a good chance to draw level from a well delivered corner from Coady but Simon Walsh headed over the bar.

The rain came down in buckets throughout the second half but credit both sides who continued to play good football with high entertainment for all in attendance. Clare had the first chance of the second half on 47 minutes when Kelly had an effort from outside the box narrowly go wide of the left post.

Kelly was at the other end on 54 minutes and made a vital block in a goalmouth scramble to prevent Sean Gavin from scoring. Mulready had to be sharp off his line on 60 minutes to cut out a good cross from the right from Colm O’Donovan.

Colin Smyth went close again for Clare on 62 minutes with a well struck long range effort that just skimmed the crossbar. Galway were now starting to throw more players forward in search of an equalizer which left them more open at the back. A good break from Collins and through ball to Smyth on 64 minutes was saved well by Keane in the Galway goal.

Mulready was called on to make another good save on 70 minutes from Coady’s well struck effort just inside the box. Another quick break for Clare from David McCarthy created a chance for Corry but his effort just went the wrong side of the right post. It was end to end stuff.

The next chance of the game fell to Eoin Whelan who made a great run from the back and linked up well with McCarthy but his effort went straight at Keane who made the save. Clare then made their first change on 78 minutes when Eoin Hayes came on for Darryl Eade who worked hard throughout. Galway had another good chance on 80 minutes but again Kelly was in the right place to make the block to prevent Gavin’s shot hitting the target.

A good ball from Darren Murphy over the top on 82 minutes created a chance for Hayes but he was denied by a great save from Keane. Darragh Fitzgerald replaced the excellent Kelly on 84 minutes as Clare threw on more fresh legs for the closing stages.

Galway had a great chance again on 85 minutes but Mulready pulled off another save to deny substitute Alex Lee who had replaced Brian Gaffney. A long ball from the back for Galway on 87 minutes fell nicely to Gerry Dolan who rounded Mulready and finished well to level the match and earn his side a deserved draw on the night.

Galway: James Keane, Tommy Walsh, Stephen Reddan, Joe Woods, Mike Elwood, Sean Gavin, Martin Coady, Simon Walsh, Gerry Dolan, Colm O’Donovan, Brian Gaffney

Subs: Alex Lee for Gaffney, Keith McHugh for Reddan, Keith Warde for Coady (inj)

Clare: John Mulready (Bridge Utd), Conor Mullen (Avenue Utd), Eoin Whelan (Tulla Utd), Paddy Purcell (Newmarket Celtic), Darren Murphy (Bridge Utd), Daragh Corry (Tulla Utd), Joe Collins (Ennis Town), Stephen Kelly (Newmarket Celtic), Colin Smyth (Newmarket Celtic), David McCarthy (Newmarket Celtic), Darryl Eade (Ennis Town)

Subs: Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic) for Eade, Darragh Fitzgerald (Bridge Utd) for Kelly, Enda Craddock (Coole FC) for McCarthy

Subs not used: Alan Kelly (Newmarket Celtic), Darren Cullinan (Newmarket Celtic), Cathal McGonigley (Sporting Ennistymon), Niall Quinn (Newmarket Celtic)

Clare Oscar Traynor Cup side 2015-16
Clare Oscar Traynor Cup side 2015-16

soccer 2

Chief Reporter Pat Flynn has worked as a journalist for almost 30 years. His career began during the late 1980s when, like many aspiring radio presenters of the time, he worked for local pirate radio stations in Clare and Limerick. Pat joined Clare FM in 1990 where he worked as researcher initially and later presented several different programmes including the station's flagship current affairs programme. He was also the station's News Editor and Deputy Controller of Programmes. Despite leaving in 2003 to pursue a career as a freelance journalist, he continues to work with the station to this day. As well as being the Clare Herald’s Chief Reporter Pat is also freelance journalist and broadcaster, contributing to Ireland’s national newspapers and is a regular contributor to national broadcasters.