O’Gorman captains Munster U18s

O’Gorman captains Munster U18s


Evan O'Gorman. Picture: Joe Buckley
Evan O’Gorman. Picture: Joe Buckley

Shannon teenager Evan O’Gorman has been named as captain of the Munster U18 clubs team that takes on Ulster in their opening interprovincial fixture today.

A member of the Young Munster club, O’Gorman has made a steady rise through the ranks in the sport, his selection as captain of the province is further evidence of this. Fellow County men included in Brendan O’Connor’s first fifteen are Alan McInerney and Ennis duo Ikem Ugwuru and Aaron Hennessy.

Head Coach Brendan O’Connor spoke about their preparations for the interprovincial series where they took part in five week residential training camp at Rockwell College. Munster great Paul O’Connell visited the squad in the midst of preparation as part of his new role as Academy Advisor.

Munster XV: Conor Hayes (Young Munster); Ikem Ugwuru (Ennis), Joe O’Connor (Tralee), Evan O’Gorman (Capt.) (Young Munster), Joe Quilter (Tralee); Harry Byrne (Garryowen), Aaron Hehir (Shannon); Aaron Hennessy (Ennis), Derry Gleeson (Garryowen), Fionn Flanagan); Charlie Murphy (Dungarvan), Evan Murphy (Nenagh); Alan McInerney (Young Munster), Shane Brosnahan (Young Munster), John Hodnett (Clonakilty). Replacements: Seán O’Connell (Cashel), Paudie McCarthy (Bantry), Cian Maguire (Clonmel), Sam Kroupa (Nenagh), Ross McCormack (Fethard), Nick O’Donoghue (Waterpark), Ben Daly (Waterpark), Tom Hanley (Charleville).