Dooley and McDonagh selected as Fianna Fáil General Election candidates

Dooley and McDonagh selected as Fianna Fáil General Election candidates


ff ge
Michael McDonagh and Timmy Dooley will contest the next General Election for Fianna Fáil.

Fianna Fáil have selected Timmy Dooley and Michael McDonagh as their candidates for the upcoming General Election.

Sitting TD, Timmy Dooley exceeded the quota of 186 on the first count in the convention held at The Auburn Lodge. A member of Dáil Eireann since 2007, Dooley was always expected to be named on the Fianna Fáil ticket.

Clare GAA County Board Chairperson, Michael McDonagh was selected as the second Fianna Fáil candidate on the second count after picking up 168 votes on the first count, the surplus from Timmy Dooley ensured the former member of the Garda Síochana would contest the next General Election.

Cllr Clare Colleran Molloy and Rita McInerney a former CEO of the Ennis Chamber also put their names forward to run in the upcoming General Election but fell short of the quota with Colleran Molloy finishing ahead of McInerney in the final standings.

Clare now has four confirmed candidates for the next General Election. Dooley and McDonagh now join Sinn Féin’s Noeleen Moran and Roisin Garvey of the Green Party in the race. Fine Gael have yet to select their contenders with sitting TD’s Pat Breen and Joe Carey expected to be joined by Senator Martin Conway.

Michael McNamara despite being expelled from the Labour Party having voted against the Government’s sale of Aer Lingus is expected to get the party nomination from Labour. Kilrush Independent Cllr Ian Lynch has been mentioned as a possible RENUA entrant while fellow Cllr’s Gerry Flynn and James Breen have yet to rule their names out.