Clare and Waterford teams named for league final replay

Clare and Waterford teams named for league final replay


Action from Sunday's League Final. Pic John Moylan
Action from Sunday’s League Final. Pic John Moylan
Clare Starting 15 versus Waterford
Clare Starting 15 versus Waterford

Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald has named his starting 15 to face Waterford in Sunday’s Allianz National Hurling League Division 1 Final replay at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

There is no change to the side that drew 0-22 to 0-22 after extra-time with Waterford last Sunday.

Conor Ryan, Bobby Duggan, Jack Browne, Shane O’Donnell, Colin Ryan, Shane Golden and Cathal O’Connell are expected to be named among the substitutes.

Derek McGrath has also announced his starting 15 but there is no place for Maurice Shanahan who struck the equalising point for the Deise in the dying seconds of extra time on Sunday. Shane Fives is named at corner back despite being listed as “highly doubtful” by McGrath on Tuesday having picked up an ankle injury last weekend. Colin Dunford makes way for Tom Devine at corner forward.

Clare Starting 15 versus Waterford:

1) Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)

2) Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara)
3) Pat O’Connor (Tubber)
4) Cian Dillon (Crusheen)

5) Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
6) Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown / Kilmaley)
7) David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8) David Reidy (Éire Óg)
9) Colm Galvin (Clonlara)

10) Darach Honan (Clonlara)
11) Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
12) Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)

13) Podge Collins (Cratloe)
14) Peter Duggan (Clooney Quin)
15) Conor McGrath (Cratloe)

Waterford Starting 15 versus Clare:

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
18. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
24. Tom Devine (Modeligo)

Clare versus Waterford throws in at Semple Stadium, Thurles, on Sunday (1st May 2016) at 3.30pm.