Clare Minor Hurlers bow out of Championship

Clare Minor Hurlers bow out of Championship


tippClare 0-12 Tipperary 2-15

The Clare Minor Hurlers were knocked out of the 2016 All Ireland Championship on Wednesday evening after succumbing to a 9 point defeat to Tipperary.

Two goals late in the play-off game secured Tipperary a Munster Minor Hurling Championship semi-final berth in front of 1,191 at Cusack Park.

Despite trailing by 7 points at half time, the Banner put in a strong second half performance and were just three points behind Tipperary going into the final minutes. Late goals from Cian Darcy and substitute Dylan Walsh however, left Clare with the unwanted distinction of being the first team knocked out of this year’s Minor championship.

Scorers for Clare: Ian Murray (0-5, 4f); Sean O’Loughlin (0-2); Conor Tierney (0-1), David Fitzgerald (0-1), Sean Kennedy (0-1), Kieran Galvin (0-1), Conor Lynch (0-1)

Scorers for Tipperary: Ger Browne (0-4), Mark Kehoe (0-4); Cian Darcy (1-1); Dylan Walsh (1-0); Lyndon Fairbrother (0-2, 1f), Shane Neville (0-2); Jerry Kelly (0-1), Paddy Cadell (0-1)

1. Killian Nugent (O’Callaghan’s Mills) 2. Cian McInerney (Inagh-Kilnamona), 3. Damien O’Loughlin (Corofin), 4. Keith White (Inagh-Kilnamona), 5. Tobias O’Meara (Killanena), 6. Cathal Noonan (Killanena), 7. Ross Hayes (Crusheen), 8. Kieran Galvin (Clonlara), 9. David Fitzgerald (Clonlara), 10. Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills), 11. Conor Tierney (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield), 12. Sean Kennedy (Kilmaley), 14. Sean O’Loughlin (Kilmaley), 13. Ian Murray (Bodyke), 15. Aidan Kennedy (Kilmaley) Subs: 17. Sean Costelloe (Wolfe Tones) for Hayes (35mins), Tadhg Connellan (Éire Óg) for Tierney (35mins), 20. Conor Lynch (Ballyea) for Fitzgerald (37 mins), 24. Bryan Conway (Wolfe Tones) for Galvin (51 mins)

1. Ciaran Barrett (Clonmel Óg), 2. Cillian O’Dwyer (Killenaule), 6. Michael Whelan (Carrick Davins), 5. Gavin Dunne (Holycross-Ballycahill), 4. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs), 17. Cian Flanagan (Newport), 3. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 10. Ger Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams), 18. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens), 20. Rian Doody (Cappawhite), 14. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), 12. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), 15. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens), 21. Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh), 13. Shane Neville (Lattin Cullen) Subs: 8. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Cadell (39 mins), 9. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Kelly (42 mins), 11. Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Neville (48 mins), 19. Kieran Breen (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams) for Fairbrother (54 mins), 22. Dylan Walsh (Ballingarry) for Doody (62 mins)

Referee: Joe Larkin (Cork)