Bridge do the business against Ennis Town

Bridge do the business against Ennis Town


Johnny Okoro returned to action for Bridge Utd. Pic: Oliver Fitzpatrick
Johnny Okoro returned to action for Bridge Utd. Pic: Oliver Fitzpatrick

Bridge Utd put back to back wins together when they got the better of a gallant Ennis Town on Wednesday night.

By Jamesy Mc Conigley

Bridge Utd 3
Ennis Town 1
Venue: LIT

League runners-up last season Bridge Utd got off to the perfect start with the returning Johnny Okoro smashing a header past Ciaran MacMathuna following a left footed cross from Eoghan Pewter on six minutes.

They doubled their advantage when Tommy Barrett rose highest to nod home a Kieran Quinlan free kick. Bridge United threatened to run riot in the early stages but for some fine goalkeeping and last ditch defending from the visiting side.

To their credit, Ennis Town pulled a goal back from a fine individual effort from Joe Collins with twenty five minutes on the clock.

The scoreline remained the same at the half time whistle despite McNamara, Fitzgerald and Quinlan all going agonisingly close to furthering the lead. The turnaround saw much of the same with MacMathuna the saviour time and time again for the Ennis Town select.

Finally the third goal came midway through the second half when Quinlan dispatched from the spot after referee James Ferns adjudged Eoin Keenan’s challenge on the rampaging Okoro a foul. Okoro, Pewter and Keogh all went close to extending the home sides lead in the final moments

In truth neither side hit top gear in this well contested but dull spectacular. Bridge now turn their attention to a tricky clash against Sporting Ennistymon in LIT on Sunday, for Ennis Town, they travel to league leaders Newmarket Celtic.

Bridge Utd: Paul Tuohy; Jason Whyte, Jonathan Downes, Tommy Barrett , Eoin Guinan , Sean McDonald; Mike McNamara, Darragh Fitzgerald, Johnny Okoro, Eoghan Pewter and Kieran Quinlan. Subs: Conn Agnew for Downes, Darren Murphy for McDonald, Lee Wall for McNamara, Brian O’Connor for Barrett, John Keogh for Okoro

Ennis Town: Ciaran MacMathuna; Declan Ensko, Richie Neylon, Eoin Keenan, Adrian Walsh; Gerry Dullaghan, Stephen Jordan, Joe Collins, Sean Collins, Rory Brennan; Marty McLaughlin.

Referee: James Ferns