Clinical Kerry end Clare’s Munster campaign

Clinical Kerry end Clare’s Munster campaign


clare kerry

Kerry booked their place in the Munster Senior Football Championship with a twelve point win over Clare.

Kerry 2-23
Clare 0-17
Venue: Fitzgerald Stadium

Éamonn Fitzmaurice’s side got off to a dream start and bagged two goals inside the opening two minutes. Ireland’s highest mountain Carrantuohill is visible from Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney and the descent that lay in front of Clare was the equivalent of that trek.

To make matters worse Cratloe’s Podge Collins was shown a black card with twenty nine minutes on the clock. Collins was the most lively attacker in the Clare ranks and his departure was another sucker-punch.

Colm Collins’ men took time to readjust following the concession of green flags via Colm Cooper and Stephen O’Brien and were chasing the game from the off.

Over the contest, their decision-making let them down and it gifted Kerry possession on several occasions. Midfield was marked as a key battleground before a ball was thrown in and the Kingdom reigned supreme in this area and it had a considerable impact on proceedings.

Clare must now travel through the backdoor while Kerry will face Tipperary in the Munster Final.

Kerry: Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion); Killian Young (Renard) (0-01), Shane Enright (Tarbert), Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore); Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht), Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers); Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks), Bryan Sheehan (St Marys) 0-02 2f); Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane), Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes) 1-03 1f), Paul Murphy (Rathmore) (0-01); Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar) (0-02), Paul Geaney (Dingle) (0-05 1f), Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare) (1-05). Subs: Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) for Morley (42), David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys) (0-01) for Sheehan (44), Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion) for Ó Beaglaoich (46), Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys) (0-02) for O’Sullivan (49), Michael Geaney (Dingle) for Walsh (51), Anthony Maher (Duagha) (0-01) for Donaghy (58).

Clare: Joe Hayes (Lissycasey); Martin McMahon (Kilmurry/Ibrickane), Kevin Hartnett (Meelick), Dean Ryan (Éire Óg); Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora), Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown), Sean Collins (Cratloe); Gary Brennan (Clondegad) (0-02), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen) (0-01); Shane McGrath (Thomas Davies), Jamie Malone (Corofin), Podge Collins (Cratloe) (0-01); Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown) (0-03 1f), David Tubridy (Doonbeg) (0-07 4f 2’45), Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry/Ibrickane). Subs: Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare) (0-03) for P Collins (29) (BC), Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes) for McGrath (40), Shane Hickey (Kilmurry/Ibrickane) for S Collins (46), Sean Malone (St Josephs Miltown) for O’Dea (56).