Teams named for Munster semi-final

Teams named for Munster semi-final


clare kerryBoth teams have been announced for Sunday’s Munster Senior Football Championship semi-final between Clare and Kerry in Killarney.

Colm Collins has named an unchanged team from the one that defeated Limerick two weeks ago. This means there’s no place for Cratloe’s Podge Collins in the starting fifteen. Coolmeen’s Cathal O’Connor has recovered from an arm injury and lines out alongside Gary Brennan in the middle of the park.

As tipped by The Clare Herald during the week, Kerry have handed Championship debuts to Tadhg Morley and Brian Ó Beaglaoich who will fill the wing back positions. Just seven of the Kingdom outfit that lost the All-Ireland decider to Dublin in 2015 remain while five changes have been made since their last competitive outing, that being the League Final defeat to Dublin.

Midfielder Anthony Maher is not included in the starting fifteen despite retuning to competitive action after a hip operation in the winter. Marc Ó Sé may have eighty five inter-county appearances to his name but it’s enough to see him line out from the off for the Kingdom. Éamonn Fitzmaurice has also Fionn Fitzgerald and David Moran on the sideline. In a bid to lessen the influence of Gary Brennan and Cathal O’Connor at midfield, Kieran Donaghy will line out in the middle of the park .

Throw-in on Sunday is at 3:30pm in Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney.

1: Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)
2: Dean Ryan (Éire Óg)
3: Kevin Hartnett (Meelick)
4: Martin McMahon (Kilmurry/Ibrickane)
5: Sean Collins (Cratloe)
6: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
7: Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
10: Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
11: Jamie Malone (Corofin)
12: Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
13: Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry/Ibrickane)
14: David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
15: Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes)

1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
2. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
4. Killian Young (Renard)
5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
8. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
9. Bryan Sheehan (St Marys)
10. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
11. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)
13. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)