Commissioner’s Medal for Clare Garda

Commissioner’s Medal for Clare Garda


Emma Gaynor Commissioner O Sulivan
Emma Gaynor accepts her award from Commissioner Nóirín O’Sullivan.

A Co Clare woman has been awarded one of the top awards a Garda recruit can receive.

Garda Emma Gaynor from Ennis was presented with her aware by Commissioner Nóirín O’Sullivan at the Garda College in Templemore yesterday where 70 new members were attested to An Garda Síochána.

They will take up at their new stations throughout the country in two weeks time.

There were three award recipients at yesterday’s aware ceremony.

The Commissioner’s Medal was awarded to Garda Emma Gaynor from Ennis in Co. Clare who is to be stationed at Clonmel Garda Station Co. Tipperary.

The Commissioner’s Prize Medal is awarded to the Student achieving the highest aggregate marks in academic subjects.

The Gary Sheehan Memorial Medal was awarded to Garda Marguerite Mc Gillycuddy from Milltown in Co. Kerry who is to be stationed in Rathmines Garda Station, Dublin. The award is awarded to the best all-round student.

The third award, the I.P.A Scholarship in memory of Ned Joy was awarded to Garda Ciaran Mc Cabe from Castleblaney, Co. Monaghan who will be stationed at Clontarf Garda Station, Dublin.

Garda Swearing In Templemore

Chief Reporter Pat Flynn has worked as a journalist for almost 30 years. His career began during the late 1980s when, like many aspiring radio presenters of the time, he worked for local pirate radio stations in Clare and Limerick. Pat joined Clare FM in 1990 where he worked as researcher initially and later presented several different programmes including the station's flagship current affairs programme. He was also the station's News Editor and Deputy Controller of Programmes. Despite leaving in 2003 to pursue a career as a freelance journalist, he continues to work with the station to this day. As well as being the Clare Herald’s Chief Reporter Pat is also freelance journalist and broadcaster, contributing to Ireland’s national newspapers and is a regular contributor to national broadcasters.