Clare face All-Ireland Champions in Munster Final

Clare face All-Ireland Champions in Munster Final


Doireann Murphy will be a key member of the Clare attack. Pic: Caroline O'Keeffe
Doireann Murphy will be a key member of the Clare attack. Pic: Caroline O’Keeffe

Clare take on Tipperary in the Munster Minor Camogie Final this evening in Garryspillane at 7:30pm.

Dervilla Moloney is manager of the Clare side and she told The Clare Herald about the mood in the camp ahead of the throw-in. “It’s very good, excited, nervous would be the most apt one now at the moment, we’re well prepared and just looking forward to it”.

Moloney and her management team of Eugene Foudy, Darren Hayes, Michelle McMahon and Stephen Cusack only have “one or two” niggling injuries to contend with but she expects all players will be fit and ready.

Tipperary had one point to spare when the sides clashed in the All-Ireland series in March. Dervilla recalls the encounter. “It was a close and as tense a match that was played in all of the years that I’ve been with Clare camogie, it was exciting, nail-biting and I’m expecting the same style tomorrow”. The Premier County went on to win the All-Ireland while Clare finished third in the group of five narrowly missing out on a place in the last four.

Regan Conway during the sides meeting in March. Pic: Caroline O'Keeffe
Regan Conway during the sides meeting in March. Pic: Caroline O’Keeffe

Eleven members of the minor panel were part of Trish O’Grady’s senior squad. Moloney is hopeful the experience will stand to the players who got a taste of senior inter-county camogie.

“It was a fantastic opportunity for the girls and every manager no matter how old you’re coaching you love to hear them progressing to the next level so it was fantastic for them. We had a great communication between ourselves and the senior management, myself and Trish spoke a lot of times between them, I would have liked them more, she would have liked them more, the collaboration between the two of us was very good and I think that helped with the girls”.

She feels there is the right blend in the squad that can seem secure a provincial title at the grade for the first time since 2011. “We’ve a good fine body of a squad between minors finishing this year and the U16’s that came forward, it’s a good integration between the two teams that have gelled well together and I suppose half of those girls were U16 last year that did go up to senior level so I have no doubt they’ll all be raring to go tomorrow evening”.

Clare Panel;
1 Rebecca Keating Inagh Kilnamona
2 Rachel Kelly Sixmilebridge
3 Clare Hehir Inagh Kilnamona
4 Ciara Doyle Boydke
5 Chloe Devitt Clarecastle
6 Emma Kennedy Sixmilebridge
7 Ciara Grogan Clooney Quin
8 Laura Foley Truagh Clonlara
9 Corina Mc Mahon Corofin
10 Amy Barrett Scarriff Ogonnolloe
11 Sinead Power Inagh Kilnamona
12 Doireann Murphy Clarecastle
13 Regan Conway Feakle
14 Amy Keating Inagh Kilnamona
15 Laura Mc Grath Feakle
16 Lauran Solon Whitegate
17 Olivia Phelan Sixmilebridge
18 Louise Egan Truagh Clonlara
19 Aoife Touhy Feakle
20 Aine O’Loughlin Truagh Clonlara
21 Sinead Conlon Tulla
22 Orlaith Cotter Inagh Kilnamona
23 Aoibheann Duggan Clooney Quin
24 Jane Fitzgerald Inagh Kilnamona
25 Evelyn Duggan Feakle Kilaneana
26 Saoirse Glynn Kilmaley
27 Karen Mc Mahon St Josephs
28 Katie O’Flanagan Newmarket on Fergus
29 Roisin Begley Truagh Clonlara