Clare Ladies footballers for Sligo showdown

Clare Ladies footballers for Sligo showdown


The Clare ladies team that beat Tyrone on March 18th

The Clare Ladies head to Sligo this Sunday in contention for a semi-final spot in the Lidl Division 2 NFL for the second year in a row.

Having gained only 1 point from their first 3 matches, Clare have since taken the maximum points in their last 3 matches. Clare are currently in second place on their own with 10 points, while Laois, Cavan and Westmeath are in joint first on 12 points.

Sligo is also in contention in third place on 9 points. A win would guarantee the Banner County a crack at the last four, while a loss or draw would make them dependent on other outcomes.

The team is a mixture of youth and experience with 13 girls who contested last year’s Intermediate All Ireland final as well as 7 players on the Clare Minor team. The team has been building momentum since their St. Patrick’s weekend home victory over Tyrone and two back to back away wins over Westmeath and Kildare.

Confidence is high in the Clare camp as they head to Yeats Country as the results from round 7 will determine the final four.

Meanwhile, the Clare Minors also had a victory over Limerick in their first Munster champion outing this year, winning comprehensively Clare 3-16, Limerick 2-5.  The minors next match is on 15th April v Tipperary.  Minor Panel: Micaela Glynn (Kilmihil), Nicole Doherty (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Kate Dillion (C) (Doora/Barefield), Aine Keane (Miltown), Anna Courtney (Doora/Barefield), Aisling Morrissey (Cooraclare), Amanda Mulcair (Doora/Barefield), Tara Kelly (Shannon Gaels), Emer Hanrahan (Doora/Barefield), Eimear Keane , Miltown), Lizzy Roche (Burren Gaels), Catriona Callinan (Kilmihil), Ciara Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Hannah Meaney (Doora/Barefield), Fidelma Marrinan (West Clare Gaels), Ciara Sheehan (Fergus Rovers), Ciara Guilfoyle (Doora/Barefield), Emma Deegan (Clooney/Quin), Ciara Corbett (Banner Ladies), Emma McMahon (Coolmeen), Aine Slattery (Fergus Rovers), Jennifer O’Neill (Clooney/Quin), Sarah Marrinan (West Clare Gaels), Chantel Burke (Kilrush), Roisin Brew (West Clare Gaels), Jane Murphy (Liscannor), Megan Downes (Cooraclare), Shona Power (Doora/Barefield), Sarah McCann (Coolmeen), Aoife Crimmins (Newmarket on Fergus), Maria Fitzgerald (Liscannor), Leanne Turbidy (Shannon Gaels), Michelle Marrinan (West Clare Gaels), Sinead Hogan (Liscannor), Siobhan Brew (West Clare Gaels)

Minor Management: Kieran Harvey (West Clare Gaels), Joe Downes (Cooraclare), Martha Deegan (Clooney/Quin), Physio: Bernie O’Regan

The Clare U16’s are in a rabbit run match tomorrow v Waterford in the Munster Championship. Throw in is at 2pm in Lattin-Cullen, Co. Tipperary.

Both teams will meet again in the Munster Final on 17th April.

Clare overcame Limerick on Saturday last in an exciting match, Clare 3-9, Limerick 2-6.

U16 panel: Amy Lenihan (Doora-Barefield), Ailish Kenny (Coolmeen), Niamh Conlon (Cooraclare), Aileen O’ Reilly (Burren Gaels), Siobhan McMahon (Banner Ladies), Saskia Morrissey (Cooraclare), Siofra Ni Chonaill (Doora-Barefield), Aisling Reidy (Doora-Barefield), Emily Cahill (Banner Ladies), Amy Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Aisling Hannon (Doora/Barefield), Aoibhin Cunningham (KIlrush), Caoilfhionn Morrissey (Cooraclare), Aoibhin Ryan (Banner Ladies), Anne Marie Meenaghan (Captain, Banner Ladies), Meg Brennan (Liscannor), Ruth Ferguson (West Clare Gaels), Aoibhinn O Loughlin (Doora-Barefield), Chloe Towey (Doora- Barefield), Sinead Lillis (Cooraclare), Hannah Shannon (Miltown Malbay), Aine Talty (Miltown Malbay), Karla Baker (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Amy Murphy (Kildysart), Muireann Collins (Doora- Barefield), Maeve Hanrahan (West Clare Geals), Grainne Meade (Miltown Malbay), Ciara Malone (Miltown Malbay), Emily Culligan (Cooraclare), Gail Norton (Doora-Barefield), Sally King (Burren Gaels), Orlaith O’ Connor (Coolmeen), Sinead McGann (Coolmeen), Anna Lineen (Miltown )Malbay), Orlflaith Condidine (Liscannor), Sophie O’ Connor (Shannon Gaels), Aoife Stankard (Crusheen), Ailbhe McGann (Burren Gaels)

U16 Management Team: Joe Reidy, JJ O Dea, Dorothy Meenaghan, Niamh O Dea (Banner Ladies) Physio: Sinead O’Keefe.


Chief Reporter Pat Flynn has worked as a journalist for almost 30 years. His career began during the late 1980s when, like many aspiring radio presenters of the time, he worked for local pirate radio stations in Clare and Limerick. Pat joined Clare FM in 1990 where he worked as researcher initially and later presented several different programmes including the station's flagship current affairs programme. He was also the station's News Editor and Deputy Controller of Programmes. Despite leaving in 2003 to pursue a career as a freelance journalist, he continues to work with the station to this day. As well as being the Clare Herald’s Chief Reporter Pat is also freelance journalist and broadcaster, contributing to Ireland’s national newspapers and is a regular contributor to national broadcasters.