Banner ousted from All-Ireland Championship

Banner ousted from All-Ireland Championship


davy fitzgerald clare

Galway 2-17 Clare 0-17

By Jamesy Mc Conigley

As the saying goes, “goals win games”. This certainly was the case in Semple Stadium today.

A goal in either half was enough to see Galway overcome Clare and help them progress to a second successive All-Ireland semi-final against Tipperary in three weeks time. After being questioned by many, Galway’s hurlers answered their critics and move one step closer to that elusive All-Ireland title.

Joe Canning gave a flawless display in the half forward line finishing with a personal tally of 1-8. Canning kept Galway ticking over in the first half, all his scores coming from placed balls.

In the opening half, Galway and Clare traded scores but the crucial breakthrough came on the 15th minute when St Thomas’ Conor Cooney fired his shot past a helpless Andrew Fahy in the Clare goal.

Three points from placed balls, courtesy of Canning, pushed Galway seven points ahead, on a score-line of 1-10 to 0-6.

Clare needed a fast start to the second half. Nevertheless, Canning had different ideas. Straight from the throw-in, David Burke raided through the heart of the Clare defence and teed up Portumna’s Joe Canning and he duly rattled the ball to the Clare net. Clare were now facing a real uphill battle.

The goal was cancelled out by sharp shooting from the Clare forwards. Conor Mc Grath’s introduction injected his teammates with much needed spirit, scoring a brace of points to leave Clare five points in arrears with twelve minutes remaining.

In between McGrath’s scores, Aaron Shanagher could have cut the deficit further but Colm Callanan got down well to push away his late effort. Cyril Donnellan called upon Hawk-eye’s services to stretch Galways lead to six. That score was a key turning point in this game.

Clare knocked on the door but Galway stood strong, keeping Fitzgeralds men at bay.

Mícheal Donoghue who was satisfied with his sides performance believes that his side must take it one step at a time. After the Leinster final defeat Galway hurling was hurting and he believed today’s game was the perfect time to set it right. “Today was a good opportunity to get back into the All-Ireland semi-final. Everything was questioned, the character of our players in the last three weeks and today they came out on the right side”

Donoghue and Galway can now turn their attention to a showdown with Tipperary in three weeks time at Croke Park.


  1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)
  2. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
  3. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)
  4. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
  5. Gearóid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
  6. Daithí Burke (Turloughmore)
  7. Aidan Harte (Gort)
  8. David Burke (St Thomas’)
  9. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
  10. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkin’s)
  11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
  12. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
  13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
  14. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
  15. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’)


  1. Cyril Donnellan (Padraig Pearses) for C Cooney (47)
  2. Davy Glennon (Mullagh) for Flynn (53)
  3. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore) for Coen (60)
  4. Andrew Smith (Portumna) for Whelan (66)
  5. Shane Maloney (Tynagh Abbeyduniry) for J Cooney (70+3)

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 1-8 (0-6f, 0-2 65s), Conor Cooney 1-0, David Burke 0-3, Joseph Cooney 0-2, Pádraic Mannion, Aidan Harte, Cathal Mannion & Cyril Donnellan 0-1 each.

Wides: 13


  1. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)
  2. Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara)
  3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
  4. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)
  5. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
  6. David McInerney (Tulla)
  1. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
  2. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)
  3. David Reidy (Éire Óg Ennis)
  4. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
  5. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
  6. John Conlon (Clonlara)
  7. Pádraic Collins (Cratloe)
  8. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Ennis)
  9. Aaron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)


  1. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Bugler (42)
  2. Conor McGrath (Cratloe) for Collins (49)
  3. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Shanagher (52)
  4. Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus) for Reidy (55)

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-7 (6f), Colm Galvin 0-5, Conor McGrath & Colin Ryan (2f) 0-2 each, David McInerney 0-1.

Wides: 12


Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

Attendance: 31,690