Clare hopeful of repeating heroics over Waterford

Clare hopeful of repeating heroics over Waterford


Kevin Hehir starts at midifeld for Clare. Pic: John Meyler
Kevin Hehir starts at midifeld for Clare. Pic: John Meyler

A place in the Munster U21 Final awaits either Clare or Waterford, they meet tonight in Walsh Park, James McConigley previews the game.

Clare will hope to repeat their heroics at Cusack Park in last year’s championship when they overcame a well fancied Waterford side in the under 21 Munster Championship semi-final. Donal Moloney makes seven changes from last year’s team. Tulla’s Daniel Vaughan will wear the number one jersey for the banner county, with two debutant corner backs in the shape of Rory Hayes and Ciaran Cooney. Inagh Kilnamona’s Jason Mc Carthy who is also in the extended Clare Senior set-up, starts at wing back while Oisin Donnellan, Colin Crehan and Aron Shanagher all come into the side for the first time respectively.

All-Ireland Minor winners in 2013, Waterford have plenty of senior stars oozing throughout their team with five players featuring in the Munster final last Sunday. Austin Gleeson, Patrick Curran and Shane Bennett started against Tipperary, while Tom Devine and Conor Gleeson were introduced as substitutes.

Waterford who holds the favouritism tag again in this fixture will look towards the Walsh Park faithful for some inspiration. Clare’s gutsy display last time out was enough to see them over the line. Clare scored 11 points in 20 minutes a year ago to swing the tide in their favour but Ian Galvin was a pivotal part of that, he misses out through injury. Tonight’s victor will proceed to face either Tipperary or Limerick who lock horns in Thurles tomorrow night.

In the last five fixtures between these two sides, Clare has been victorious in each outing. Can the Banner men make it six-in-a-row? Only time will tell. Throw-in is at Walsh Park this Wednesday is at 7pm, live coverage commences at 6.45pm.

Clare: Daniel Vaughan (Tulla); Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones), David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona), Ciaran Cooney (O’Callaghans Mills); Jason McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona), Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley), Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones); David Conroy (St Josephs Doora/Barefield), Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona); Oisin Donnellan (Feakle), Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle), Shane Gleeson (Cratloe); Colin Crehan (O’Callaghans Mills), Ryan Taylor (Clooney/Quin), Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones).

Waterford :Jordan Henley (Tallow); William Hahessy (Clonea), Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater), Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan); Míchéal Harney (Bunmahon), Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), Conor Prunty (Abbeyside); Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank), Colm Roche (Shamrocks); DJ Foran (Portlaw),Tom Devine (Modeligo) Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper); Patrick Curran (Dungarvan, joint captain) Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart), Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)