Garrihy names provisional Oscar Traynor squad

Garrihy names provisional Oscar Traynor squad


The 2015/16 Clare Oscar Traynor side
The 2015/16 Clare Oscar Traynor side

Donie Garrihy has announced his provisional thirty two man squad as Clare begin the defence of the Oscar Traynor title.

Darryl Eade collected his second Oscar Traynor medal last season and has retired from the game since Clare’s final win over the Leinster Senior League in May. He is the only member of the victorious starting eleven to depart the setup.

After a brief stint with Galway United, Ian Collins has returned to Newmarket Celtic and has received a County call-up along with goalkeeper Rob Shier.

Former Limerick F.C. player Gavin Whyte is back in action with Bridge Utd and is one of the new members of the squad as is his club team-mate defender Eoin Guinan.

Other new additions to the squad include the Kilrush pairing of Gearoid O’Brien and Gearoid Lynch, Tulla’s Tommy McKeown and Niall Whelan, Michael Leigh of Sporting Ennistymon, Kaylan O’Loughlin, Turnpike’s Danny Russell and Shannon Town winger Aaron Rudd.

League and Cup champions Newmarket Celtic dominate the squad with ten members. Tulla Utd have five representatives with four from Avenue, three from Bridge Utd while Kilrush Rangers, Shannon Town, Sporting Ennistymon, Ennis Town, Turnpike Rovers and Coole F.C. also have club members selected to play at County level.

Once more Donie will be joined by Denis Hynes and David Russell on his management team.

Clare Panel:
Barry Ryan (Avenue Utd)
Mark Roche (Avenue Utd)
Conor Mullen (Avenue Utd)
Kaylan O’Loughlin (Avenue Utd)
Eoin Guinan (Bridge Utd)
Gavin Whyte (Bridge Utd)
Darren Murphy (Bridge Utd)
Arek Mamala (Coole FC)
Enda Craddock (Coole FC)
Joe Collins (Ennis Town)
Gearoid O’Brien (Kilrush Rangers)
Gearoid Lynch (Kilrush Rangers)
Rob Shier (Newmarket Celtic)
Steve Carroll (Newmarket Celtic)
Stephen Kelly (Newmarket Celtic)
Brian Monaghan (Newmarket Celtic)
Eoin O’Brien (Newmarket Celtic)
Colin Smyth (Newmarket Celtic)
Ian Collins (Newmarket Celtic)
David McCarthy (Newmarket Celtic)
Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)
Paddy Purcell (Newmarket Celtic)
Aaron Rudd (Shannon Town)
Darren Whelan (Shannon Town)
Michael Leigh (Sporting Ennistymon)
Cathal McConigley (Sporting Ennistymon)
Daragh Corry (Tulla Utd)
Colin Nelson (Tulla Utd)
Tommy McKeown (Tulla Utd)
Eoin Whelan (Tulla Utd)
Niall Whelan (Tulla Utd)
Danny Russell (Turnpike Rovers)