Inamona blast past Kilkishen

Inamona blast past Kilkishen


Inagh/Kilnamona's Sinead O'Loughlin gets away from Kilkishen's Eilis Whitney.
Inagh/Kilnamona’s Sinead O’Loughlin gets away from Kilkishen’s Eilis Whitney.

Inagh/Kilnamona recorded a convincing win in the round three of the PK Travel Senior Championship against Kilkishen.

Inagh Kilnamona 3-16
Kilkishen 0-6
Venue: Gurteen

Inagh-Kilnamona’s Amy Keating and Laura Rynne helped them into a healthy lead early on but Kilkishen hit back with a pointed free from Deirdre Cotter. Sinead O’Loughlin raised a green flag mid-way through the opening half swiftly followed by another from Laura Rynne. Keating tagged on further more points but Michelle Tierney pointed to cut the deficit. Sinead Quinn joined the scorers list when she split the post’s insuring that Inagh-Kilnamona were well in command at the interval.

Kate O’Gorman opened the scoring in the second half but it was Inagh-Kilnamona who continued to dominate, Kilkishen found it difficult to unlock the Inagh-Kilnamona defence while their forwards continued adding to their tally in the shape of Keating, O’Loughlin, Tara Rynne and Claire Commane helping them into an assailable lead.

Kate Lynch scored two frees for Kilkishen. Amy Keating finished an impressive afternoon grabbing herself a goal and her sides third.

It was a complete team performance from Inagh-Kilnamona overcoming their opposition in majority of positions all over the park. Amy Keating who bagged 1-08, Claire Commane, Sinead O’Loughlin and the Rynne sisters impressed from start to finish for the winning side. Edel McNamara did well in the Kilkishen goal, keeping the score down with some smart saves while Kate Lynch and Michelle Tierney fought hard for Kilkishen.

Adding another two points to their tally has confirmed that Margret Lafferty’s side have already secured a semi-final spot. Kilkishen still await their first win of the PK Travel Senior camogie Championship.

Inagh Kilnamona: Rebecca Keating; Orlaith Cotter, Siobhan Lafferty, Michelle Wynne; Jane Fitzgerald, Clare Hehir, Laoise Ryan; Andrea O’Keeffe (0-01), Sinead Quinn (0-01); Tara Rynne (0-02) Capt, Sinead O’Loughlin (1-02), Chloe Foudy; Laura Rynne (1-01), Amy Keating (1-08), Claire Commane (0-1). Subs: Chloe McNamara for Chloe Foudy, Roisin Clancy for Laura Rynne (48 min)

Kilkishen: Edel McNamara; Joanne O’Gorman, Nollaig Baker, Marie McNamara; Aine Cooney, Kate Lynch (0-03), Eilis Whitney; Michelle Tierney (0-01), Niamh O’Gorman; Orla Mcinerney, Deirdre Cotter (0-01), Deirdre Minogue; Marie Collins, Kate O’Gorman (0-01), Aine Mcinerney. Subs: Meghan Boland for K O’Gorman

Referee Flan O’Reilly (Cratloe)

Additional reporting by Jamesy McConigley