Scariff/Ogonnelloe ease into All-Ireland Final

Scariff/Ogonnelloe ease into All-Ireland Final


Tullysaran's Louise Mackle with Aoife Power of Scariff Ogonnelloe. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson
Tullysaran’s Louise Mackle with Aoife Power of Scariff Ogonnelloe. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

Scariff/Ogonnelloe qualified for the All-Ireland Junior Club Camogie Final with an emphatic victory over O’Connells Tullysaran of Armagh.

Scariff-Ogonnelloe (Clare) 6-22
O’Connells Tullysaran (Armagh) 0-5
Venue: Cusack Park, Mullingar

It was an easy outing for the East Clare amalgamation as they led from start to finish. They were never under pressure and will find themselves playing Kildare side Johnstownbridge in the decider.

With fifteen minutes played Scariff/Ogonnelloe hit over nine points before their opponents registered on the scoreboard. Their dominance continued throughout the opening half and held a 0-16 0-03 advantage at half-time.

Colette McSorley pointed from a free early in the second half and was denied a goal by an Aisling Corbett block shortly after. At the other end Sarah O’Donnell made no mistake when she scored the first goal of the game on the forty third minute.

Further goals from Danielle Sheedy, Mairead Scanlan and a Rachel Minouge hat-trick followed as the Pat Minouge managed outfit blew their opponents away.

Three years on from losing to Carlow club Myshall in the All-Ireland Final, Scariff/Ogonnelloe will be hoping to put the record straight when they face Johnstownsbridge on November 27th, the Kildare club had two points to spare over Athleague of Roscommon.

Scariff/Ogonnelloe: Aisling Corbett, Sarah Skelly, Marion O’Brien, Leanne Horan, Alison Madden, Amy Barrett, Shannon McNamara, Roisin O’Brien, Holly McGee, Rachel Moloney, Mairead Scanlon, Aoife Power, Rachel Minogue, Danielle Sheedy, Sarah O’Donnell. Subs: Cathy Madden for Power, Aine O’Brien for Sheedy, Sorcha O’Donnell for Sarah O’Donnell, Caoimhe O’Gorman for McGee, Aoife Moloney for R Moloney.

O’Connells Tullysaran: Patricia McKinney, Sarah McGahan, Collette Finnegan, Caoimhe Fanthorpe, Aoife McKenna, Leanne Mackle, Louise Mackle, Eimear Hayes, Alice Mackle, Laureen Duffy, Colette McSorley, Eimear Mullen, Emma Mullan, Siobhán Mackle, Ceiligh Mullen. Subs: Cathy Moen for McGahan, Julie Ann Garvey for Louise Mackle.

Referee: John Dermody (Westmeath)

All pics by Tommy Dickson (Inpho)