Cooraclare & Kilmurry IB reach knockout stages of Féile

Burren Gaels vs Kilmurry Ibrickane.
Burren Gaels vs Kilmurry Ibrickane.

Cooraclare and Kilmurry Ibrickane represented the County in the Féile na nGael competition in Kerry last weekend with both reaching the knockout stages.

Tricia Donnellan reports.

- Advertisement -

The Milesians were based in Killarney, they won the first division in Clare earlier on in 2016 and were competing in National Division 3. Kilmurry Ibrickane won the second division in Clare and competed in Division 5 and were based in Tralee.

Cooraclare made a clean sweep of their round robin match beating SN Ailbhe Killinure in their first match 1-9 0-0. In their second match on Friday evening, they again kept their opponents scoreless with a win over Austin Stacks 2-8 to 0-0. On Saturday morning their hosts Killarney Legion got the only score against them in the round robin but Cooraclare came out on top 2-5 to 1-0.

This brought them to the quarter finals on Saturday afternoon where they scored 4-11 and again left their opponents Monaleen without a score on the board. Next up on Sunday was Oldmill Newcastlewest in the semi-final where Cooraclare met some stiff competition; however they won out in the end after extra time 0-7 1-2.

Downpatrick were their opponents for the final and it proved to be a low scoring game. Cooraclare played some lovely football but they lost by the loneliest of margins. Final score Downpatrick 0-4 to Cooraclare 0-3.

Cooraclare panel: Sarah Fennell, Emily Culligan, Niamh Burke, Kate O’Neill, Niamh Conlon, Laura Quinlivan, Heidi Morrissey, Shauna O’Gorman, Saskia Morrissey, Sinead Lillis, Nicola Keating, Therese Meaney, Maggie Smyth, Katie Grogan, Zoe Downes, Katie Lillis, Elaine Meaney, Emma Crowley, Aoibhinn Mullins, Sadbh O’Brien. Management: Joe Downes, David O’Brien, Marie Culligan, Nicole Downes, Megan Downes

Kilmurry Ibrickane finished joint top of their group with two wins and a draw. Kilmurry Ibrickane started their campaign with a strong win over Chluain Tarbh 6-3 to 2-3 and had to settle for a draw in their second match against Kilcummin 3-1 KIB 1-7. The Bricks accounted for their hosts Beaufort on Saturday morning 3-6 to 1-4 and this put them joint leaders with Kilcummin.

The quarter final v Edendork St Malachy’s saw the side’s level after extra time. Kilmurry Ibrickane came out on top when Klara Baker’s shot sealed the win. Next up was Fossa in the semi-finals and Kilmurry gave it everything they had and were just short at the end. Final score Fossa 2-5, Kilmurry Ibrickane 1-6.

Kilmurry Ibrickane Panel: Katie Mc Mahon, Roisin Montgomery, Catriona Egan, Aoibhnet O Dea, Nikki Walsh, Klara Baker, Eilish Conway, Rachel Moloney, Amy Sexton, Joanna Doohan, Siofra O Dea, Emma Murray, Sophie Daly, Ava Burke, Ava Downes, Caitlyn O Conner, Emma Mc Guire, Amber O Conner, Ellie Hanrahan, Rachel Tubridy, Chloe O Brien, Laoisne O Dea. Manager: Senan Mc Carthy, Mentors: Francis Doohan. Laurna Pender. Patrick Montgomery.

This past two weeks saw the conclusion of the U14 championship and the timing was perfect to send Cooraclare and Kilmurry/Ibrickane to the Féile.

The top tier semi-finals saw town rivals Doora Barefield edge past the Banner 3-7 to 3-6. The other semi saw two West Clare sides Kilrush and Cooraclare do battle with the Milesians coming out on top 4-16 to 1-5. Cooraclare went on to win the division A Cup with their victory over Doora Barefield 1-14 to 0-2. Banner claimed the Shield with a win over Kilrush 6-9 to 4-4.

Division 2 semi-finals saw West Clare Gaels with a big win over Clarecastle 6-18 to 1-0 and Fergus Rovers got the better of Clooney Quin 6-6 to 5-4. The Division 2 Cup final was a tight affair between Fergus Rovers and West Clare Gaels but Fergus Rovers pulled away in the end and won 7-8 to 3-9. Clarecastle bounced back from their semi-final defeat to claim the Shield prize with their win over Clooney/Quin 10-6 to 3-3.

The Division 3 semi-final match up saw Kilmurry Ibrickane take on Wolfe Tones with KIB coming out on top 5-13 to 1-1. The other semi pitted Burren Gaels v Doonbeg with the north Clare side winning 1-5 to 0-1. In the C Cup Kilmurry Ibrickane ran out winners over Burren Gaels 7-7 to 2-2. Wolfe Tones claimed the C Shield honours with their win over Doonbeg 3-1 to 0-4.

Kildysart claimed top honours in the Division 4 Cup final with their win over Doora Barefield White 5-6 to 1-1. They beat their Estuary neighbours Shannon Gaels in the semi-final 2-16 to 1-6. Crusheen won the Shield title with their win Shannon Gaels 3-8 to 1-1, having narrowly lost their semi-final to Doora Barefield 2-3 to 3-1.

- Advertisement -

Recent Posts