Two changes to Waterford team

Two changes to Waterford team


Pic John Moylan
Austin Gleeson is named at centre-back for Waterford. Pic John Moylan

Maurice Shanahan returns to the Waterford team for Sunday’s Munster Senior Hurling Championship clash with Clare.

The Lismore man is named at full-forward and is one of two changes from the starting fifteen that were defeated by Clare in the Allianz National Hurling League Final replay. Colin Dunford is handed a start at corner-forward. Jake Dillon and Tom Devine are the two players dropped by manager Derek McGrath.

A lot of focus has been on where the versatile Austin Gleeson will line-out, the Mount Sion is named at centre-back alongside Tadhg de Burca and Philip Mahony.

Clare are expected to announce their team on Saturday evening. Late fitness tests have prompted the delay.

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
18. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)