Kerry name team for Clare clash

Kerry name team for Clare clash


Action from the Munster semi-final between Kerry & Clare. Pic: Ann Hayes
Action from the Munster semi-final between Kerry & Clare. Pic: Ann Hayes

Éamonn Fitzmaurice has made three changes to the Kerry team from the side that overcame Tipperary in the Munster Final on July 3rd.

Colm Cooper, Bryan Sheehan and Aidan O’Mahony make way with James O’Donoghue, David Moran and Peter Crowley drafted in for Sunday’s All-Ireland quarter-final with Clare.

2014 Footballer of the Year James O’Donoghue will make his first championship start of the year at corner-forward in place of Colm Cooper who has yet to overcome a shoulder injury picked up in the provincial decider. Paul Geaney and Darran O’Sullivan line out alongside the Killarney men in the full-forward line.

Wing-backs Tadhg Morley and Brian Ó Beaglaoich made their championship debuts in the Munster meeting between Kerry and Clare, Peter Crowley lines out between the duo at number six.

Stephen O’Brien kicked 1-05 in the Munster semi-final clash between the sides in June, he’s named at wing-forward with Paul Murphy and Donnchadh Walsh completing the half-forward line. Kieran Donaghy and David Moran will line out in the middle of the park.

Captain Killian Young is selected at corner-back with Mark Griffin on the edge of the square while Shane Enright has been handed the number two jersey. Brian Kelly starts behind them in between the posts.

Kerry: 1. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion
2. Shane Enright Tarbert
3. Mark Griffin St Michaels/Foilmore
4. Killian Young (C) Renard
5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich An Ghaeltacht
6. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers
7. Tadhg Morley Templenoe
8. Kieran Donaghy Austin Stacks
9. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys
10. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare
11. Paul Murphy Rathmore
12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane
13. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar
14. Paul Geaney Dingle
15. James O’Donoghue Killarney Legion
Fir Ionaid:
16. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin
17. Bryan Sheehan St Marys
18. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore
19. Anthony Maher Duagh
20. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys
21. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
22. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion
23. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes
24. Tom O’Sullivan Dingle
25. Barry O’Sullivan Dingle
26. Tony Brosnan Dr Crokes