Clonlara’s Foley included in Irish U20 6 Nations squad

Clonlara’s Foley included in Irish U20 6 Nations squad


John Foley

Clonlara’s John Foley has been named in the thirty two man Irish U20 rugby squad for the opening rounds of the 6 Nations.

Three players included in Head Coach Nigel Carolan’s squad were involved in the 2016 6 Nations. Foley is one of the trio along with Connacht lock Cillian Gallagher and Ulster out-half Johnny McPhillips.

Foley who plays his club rugby with Shannon features in the back row for his club, province and country. He is expected to be one of the central figures in Carolan’s squad and is one of ten Munster players selected.

Of the selected thirty two, Carolan said, “As is the nature of U20s rugby, we have a new look squad this season, with just a few of last year’s players returning, so it will be a new and exciting challenge for both the players and management. We had a number of camps before Christmas and the attitude and enthusiasm that the players brought with them to these camps has been extremely positive.

“While international rugby at U20s level will be new to the most of these players, the majority of them have all come through the IRFU player-pathway and will have worn the green jersey at U18 and U19 levels. Several of the squad have also gotten good game time with their provincial A teams in the British and Irish Cup this season, so that should stand to them”, the Connacht Rugby Academy Manager concluded.

Ireland will open their Six Nations campaign against Scotland on Friday, 3rd February at the Broadwood Stadium in Glasgow at 8.30pm. They will then travel to Prato to play Italy on Friday 10th February, with a 7pm (local time) kick-off.

They then play their first home game of the Championship against France on Friday 24th February in Donnybrook. They will face Wales on Saturday, 11th March in Colwyn Bay and will finish off the championship on St. Patrick’s Day against England in Donnybrook, in what will be a double-header with the Ireland Women’s side.

Ireland U20 Six Nations Squad
Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Charlie Connolly (Dublin University / Leinster)
Joey Conway (UL Bohemians / Munster)
Gavin Coombes (Young Munster / Munster)
Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster)
Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College / Leinster)
Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
John Foley (Shannon RFC / Munster)
Cillian Gallagher (Corinthians RFC / Connacht)
Ronan Kelleher (UCD / Leinster)
Sean Masterson (Corinthians / Connacht)
Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Rory Mulvihill (UCD RFC / Leinster)
Marcus Rea (Queen’s University / Ulster)
Jack Regan (UCD RFC / Leinster)
Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster / Munster)

Rory Butler (Queen’s University / Ulster)
Peadar Collins (Garryowen / Munster)
Liam Coombes (Garryowen / Munster)
Conor Dean (St. Mary’s College / Leinster)
Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon RFC / Munster)
Colm Hogan (Dublin University / Munster)
Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC / Leinster)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University / Leinster) Captain
Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College / Leinster)
Jack Lyons (Young Munster / Munster)
Robert Lyttle (Queen’s University / Ulster)
Johnny McPhillips (Ballynahinch / Ulster)
Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC / Leinster)
Calvin Nash (Young Munster / Munster)
Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC / Leinster)
Johnny Stewart (Queen’s University / Ulster)