Clare team named for Dublin clash

Clare team named for Dublin clash


Tulla’s David McInerney is named in the starting 15 for the first time this season as Clare face Dublin in Round 4 of the 2017 Allianz National Hurling League Division 1A at Cusack Park, Ennis, this Sunday (12 March 2017) at 2.00 p.m.

Clare Senior Hurling Joint Managers Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have named their starting 15 that shows three changes from the side that started against Tipperary in Semple Stadium last week.

David McInerney replaces the injured Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara) while Ian Galvin (Clonlara) comes in for Cathal McInerney (Cratloe) and makes his starting debut for the Banner in the National Hurling League having featured as a substitute against Tipperary.

The other Clare change sees Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin) replacing Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna). Both McInerney and Cunningham are among the named substitutes.

The team is:

1. Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)
2. David McInerney (Tulla)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen) Captain
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
5. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
6. Conor Cleary (St. Josephs Miltown)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
8. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
9. David Reidy (Éire Óg)
10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. John Conlon (Clonlara)
13. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
14. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
15. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)


16. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)
17. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
18. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
19. Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
20. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
21. Conor O Donnell (Crusheen)
22. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
23. Shane McNamara (Clooney-Quin)
24. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
25. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
26. Kevin Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona)
Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway).

Chief Reporter Pat Flynn has worked as a journalist for almost 30 years. His career began during the late 1980s when, like many aspiring radio presenters of the time, he worked for local pirate radio stations in Clare and Limerick. Pat joined Clare FM in 1990 where he worked as researcher initially and later presented several different programmes including the station's flagship current affairs programme. He was also the station's News Editor and Deputy Controller of Programmes. Despite leaving in 2003 to pursue a career as a freelance journalist, he continues to work with the station to this day. As well as being the Clare Herald’s Chief Reporter Pat is also freelance journalist and broadcaster, contributing to Ireland’s national newspapers and is a regular contributor to national broadcasters.