Bricks maintain winning streak

Bricks maintain winning streak


Keelan Sexton kicked 0-04 for Kilmurry/Ibrickane. Pic: David Crimmins
Keelan Sexton kicked 0-04 for Kilmurry/Ibrickane. Pic: David Crimmins

Kilmurry/Ibrickane maintained their unbeaten run in 2016 as they brushed aside the challenge of Éire Óg in Round One of the Clare Senior Football Championship.

Kilmurry/Ibrickane 1-12
Éire Óg 1-04
Venue: Labasheeda

The Bricks dominated proceedings from start to finish as they booked their place in the winners section of the second round while sending Éire Óg into the losers equivalent.

Noel Downes raised the first green flag of the game to give Kilmurry/Ibrickane an eight point advantage with twenty minutes on the clock. Keelan Sexton, Enda Coughlan, Shane Hickey, Michael Hogan and Niall Hickey also added scores to keep them in front at the break. Barry Cotter hit Éire Óg’s three points in the opening half as the Townies found themselves eight points in arrears.

Aidan Moloney’s side had the damage done in the opening half and continued to exert their influence over proceedings in the second thirty as they limited the Ennis club to two scores while adding four points.

Thirteen time champions Kilmurry are yet to taste defeat in league or championship in 2016 and are showing some hunger that was lacking in recent seasons. Éire Óg on the other hand have suffered a first round defeat for the second year in succession.

Kilmurry/Ibrickane: Ian McInerney; Mark Kileen, Darren Hickey, Ciaran Morrissey; John McNamara, Martin McMahon (0-01), Kieran Kileen; Keith King, Darragh Sexton; Niall Hickey (0-03), Shane Hickey (0-01), Michael Hogan (0-01); Noel Downes (1-01), Keelan Sexton (0-04), Enda Coughlan (0-01).

Éire Óg: Eoin Slattery; Conor O’Halloran, Dean Ryan, Éinne O’Connor; Sean Corry, Aidan McGrath, Francie Keane; Dara Walsh, Shane Daniels; Barry Cotter, Davy O’Halloran, Conall Ó hAiniféin; Paddy O’Malley, Danny Russell, Eimhin Courtney.

Referee: Pat Cosgrove (Corofin)