Reigning champions outclass Cooraclare

Reigning champions outclass Cooraclare


Kieran Malone kicked the opening goal of the game. Pic: John Meyler
Miltown’s Kieran Malone. Pic: John Meyler

Miltown moved one step closer to retaining their title as County Champions as they had sixteen points to spare over Cooraclare on Saturday evening.

Jamesy McConigley reports from Quilty

St Josephs Miltown 5-15
Cooraclare 1-11
Venue: Quilty

St Josephs Miltown got off to a glorious start in this Round Two clash as Gearoid Curtin found himself in space to slot his effort into the Cooraclare net with three minutes on the clock. Eoin Cleary brought his devastating form from county to club and ended the day with a personal tally of 2-06. Cooraclare were awarded a penalty early on but Rory Donnelly missed from the spot. Cooraclare dragged themselves back into the game, points coming courtesy from John Looney and Jack Morrissey. But anytime Cooraclare gained momentum, Miltown sniffed out the danger by raising a green flag.

Cooraclare fought hard and found themselves just four points behind when John Looney fired over his fourth point of the game but from the next attack Miltown opened the gap again to seven. Brian Curtin’s shot ricocheted off Cooraclare’s defender Thomas Donnellan and into the net.

On the fifty fourth minute it was pinball in the Miltown penalty area and somehow Seán O Brien turned the ball into his own net. Both sides traded points late on. The game was well and truly over when Eoin Cleary popped up for Miltown’s forth and his second of the game.

An impressive Miltown advance into the quarter-final of the Clare SFC with their off the shoulder running key to their victory. Ger Lawlor’s Cooraclare now turn their attention to the draw on Monday night.

St Josephs Miltown: Seán O’Brien; Enda O’Gorman, Seánie Malone, Gearoid Curtin; Eoin O’Brien, Gordon Kelly, Colin Hehir; John Jimmy Meade, Conor Cleary; Brian Curtin, Joe Curtin, Kevin Keavey; Eoin Cleary, Kieran Malone, Darragh Mc Donagh. Subs: Eoin Curtin, Damien Lafferty, Brendan O’Brien, Aidan Mc Guane, Graham Kelly and David Talty.

Scorers: Eoin Cleary (2-07 6f), Eoin Curtin (1-01), Brian Curtin (1-00), Gearoid Curtin (1-00), Kieran Malone (0-3 1f), Conor Cleary (0-02) Darragh Mc Donagh (0-01), Damien Lafferty (0-01).

Cooraclare: Killian Roche; Niall Kelly, Conor Marrinan, Killian Burke; Thomas Donnellan, Fergal Lillis, James Burke; John Looney, Seán O’Donoghue; Hugh Donnelly, Damien Burke, Jack Morrissey; Rory Donnelly, Cathal Lillis, Pearse Lillis. Subs: Keith Marrinan, Caoimhin Donnellan, Michael Kelly.

Scorers: John Looney (0-04 2f), Jack Morrissey (0-03f), Pearse Lillis (0-01), Cathal Lillis (0-01f), Seán O’Donoghue (0-01) and Rory Donnelly (0-01).

Referee: Rory Hickey (Éire Óg).