Cooney continues as Clare GAA Chairman

Cooney continues as Clare GAA Chairman


Joe Cooney. Photo: © Pat Flynn 2016
Joe Cooney. Photo: © Pat Flynn 2016

Joe Cooney has been returned to the role of Clare GAA Chairperson for a second year.

By Jamesy McConigley

Cooney welcomed all club delegates, media and associates to discuss the year that lies ahead at the 2016 Clare GAA Convention which took place at The Auburn Lodge Hotel. With thirty three motions up for discussion, the most overwhelming acknowledgment was the transformation of Clare Senior Football Championship.

Clare’s Senior Football will again see reform to its format in 2017. Currently sixteen teams dine at the top tier of the counties senior football competition but adjustments have been made. Four teams will be relegated in 2017 making it a twelve team championship in 2018 as per the motion from Cooraclare.

This raised plenty of eyebrows. Speculation escalated after the football review report was released but reports were confirmed after months of uncertainty.

Motions relating to games were deferred until January’s fixtures meeting of which there were eight items tabled for discussion. Various clubs around the county tabled the motion that the timing of underage competitions be reviewed with ‘player burnout’ a growing issue in the GAA. Again this has been referred to a later date.

John Fawl. Photo: © Pat Flynn 2016
John Fawl. Photo: © Pat Flynn 2016

John Fawl defeated Noel O’Driscoll for the vacant position of Central Council delegate, O’Callaghans Mills’ Joe Cooney will enter his second year as Chairman with the remainder of candidates elected unopposed.

President: Tadhg Murphy (Cooraclare)
Chairman: Joe Cooney (O’Callaghans Mills)
Vice Chairman: PJ McGuane (Cooraclare)
Secretary: Pat Fitzgerald (Sixmilebridge)
Asst Secretary: Rosaleen Monahan (Tubber)
Treasurer: Bernard Keane (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)
Asst Treasurer: Declan Hogan (Tulla)
PRO: Sean O’Halloran (Bodyke)
Irish/Culture Officer: Ann Hayes (Lissycasey)
Development Officer: Ger Hickey (Feakle)
Games Development Officer: Michael O’Neill (Ballyea)
Children’s Officer: Fergal Gray (Feakle)
Central Council Delegate: John Fawl (Ennistymon)
Munster Council Delegates: PJ Kelly (Inagh/Kilnamona) & Kieran Keating (Naomh Eoin)