Clare candidates elected to 33rd Dáil

Clare candidates elected to 33rd Dáil


The Clare candidates elected to the 33rd Dáil have been confirmed:

Michael McNamara -Independent – Elected

Violet-Anne Wynne – Sinn Féin – Elected

Cathal Crowe – Fianna Fáil – Elected

Joe Carey – Fine Gael – Elected


The Clare Herald has teamed up with Clare FM to bring you the best coverage of Election 2020.

The station will bring you the most up to date coverage of the election campaign including candidate debates, update on turnout on polling day and comprehensive and live coverage of the election count.

At least one new candidate will represent Clare in the next Dáil after Dr Michael Harty confirmed that he would not be contesting this election.

Polling days is February 8th while Clare FM will broadcast live from the count centre at the Falls Hotel in Ennistymon on Sunday and until all four candidates are elected.

Latest Election News

Your candidates in Election 2020 are:

David Barrett (Ind)

Pat Breen TD (FG)

Joe Carey TD (FG)

Martin Conway (FG)

Cathal Crowe (FF)

Timmy Dooley TD (FF)

Róisín Garvey (GP)

Michael Leahy (Irish Freedom Party)

Trudy Leyden (Ind)

Rita McInerney (FF)

Michael McNamara (Ind)

Conor O’Brien (Renua)

Theresa O’Donohue (PBP)

Joseph Woulfe (Ind)

Violet-Anne Wynne (SF)

*Profiles by Clare FM




Chief Reporter Pat Flynn has worked as a journalist for almost 30 years. His career began during the late 1980s when, like many aspiring radio presenters of the time, he worked for local pirate radio stations in Clare and Limerick. Pat joined Clare FM in 1990 where he worked as researcher initially and later presented several different programmes including the station's flagship current affairs programme. He was also the station's News Editor and Deputy Controller of Programmes. Despite leaving in 2003 to pursue a career as a freelance journalist, he continues to work with the station to this day. As well as being the Clare Herald’s Chief Reporter Pat is also freelance journalist and broadcaster, contributing to Ireland’s national newspapers and is a regular contributor to national broadcasters.