Ten points the difference as Cratloe overcome Whitegate

Ten points the difference as Cratloe overcome Whitegate


Cratloe's Conor McGrath. Picture: Gary Collins
Cratloe’s Conor McGrath. Picture: Gary Collins

Ten points was the margin as Cratloe ensured they remain in the race for the Canon Hamilton as they disposed of the Whitegate challenge.

Cratloe 1-21
Whitegate 1-11
Venue: Dr Daly Park, Tulla

A place in Round Three of the Clare SHC awaits Cratloe who did enough to get past Whitegate in a repeat pairing from the same stage of the championship last year.

The Burke brothers Colin and Patrick pointed to give the East Clare men an early advantage, efforts from David Collins and Conor McGrath cancelled them out.

McGrath combined with Cathal McInerney in what has become a lethal partnership for Cratloe down through the years, with McInerney netting their only goal of the game on the fifth minute.

Points from Shane Gleeson and Sean Collins left the 2014 Champions in control at the break as they led 1-10 0-05.

With an eight point advantage the Joe McGrath side just needed to keep the scoreboard ticking over for the remainder of the game and that they outscoring Whitegate 11-7 to advance to the third round of the Clare SHC. The East Clare club must now fight for survival in the grade.

Cratloe: Gearoid Ryan; Shane O’Leary, Michael Hawes, Martin Oige Murphy; Sean Chaplin, Conor Ryan, Jamie Arthur; Liam Markham, Daithí Collins; Shane Gleeson, David Collins, Sean Collins; Cathal McInerney, Conor McGrath, Damien Browne.