8 changes to Clare team for Limerick tie

8 changes to Clare team for Limerick tie


Colm Galvin is named at centre-back, Pic: Raymond O’Mahony

Clare have made eight changes from the side that defeated Kerry in their opening game of the Munster Senior Hurling League for Wednesday’s clash with Limerick.

Joint managers Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor are using the competition to give players an opportunity to impress before their Allianz National Hurling League campaign begins.

Donal Tuohy, Shane McNamara, Cian Dillon, Jamie Shanahan, Shane Golden, John Conlon, Peter Duggan and Cathal ‘Tots’ O’Connell are introduced to the starting fifteen.

Andrew Fahey, Eoin Quirke, Jason McCarthy, Brendan Bugler, Conor Cleary, Kevin Hehir, Padraic Collins and Cathal McInerney are the players to make way following their twelve point win over the Kingdom.

Clonlara’s Colm Galvin is named at centre-back on the team with Cian Dillon returning to the full-back spot with David Fitzgerald pushed to the wing. Dillon will also captain the side.

It will be the first inter-county appearance in over twelve months for Sixmilebridge’s Jamie Shanahan. The LIT student left the county panel following the 2015 season.

1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)
2. Shane McNamara (Clooney-Quin)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen) Capt.
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
7. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
8. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis)
9. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
10. John Conlon (Clonlara)
11. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
12. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
13. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara)
14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
15. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)

16. Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)
17. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)
18. Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle)
19. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
20. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
21. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
22. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
23. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
24. Kevin Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona)
25. Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen)
26. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)