O’Brien to make senior debut as Clare face Limerick

O’Brien to make senior debut as Clare face Limerick


Gearoid O’Brien in action for Kilrush Shamrocks. Pic: Martin Connolly.

Kilrush Shamrocks’ Gearoid O’Brien will make his senior inter-county debut when Clare take on Limerick in the McGrath Cup this evening.

Manager Colm Collins has made ten changes to the side that defeated Waterford by five points on Sunday. The Clare boss has previously indicated that he will be using the competition to trial out players and that is certainly the case as he opts for rotation against the Treaty County.

Joe Hayes, Kevin Hartnett, Gordon Kelly, Cathal O’Connor and Eoin Cleary are the five players to retain their place in the starting team. Wednesday’s fixture which takes place at St Patricks GAA, Rhebogue at 7:30pm marks the first appearance of the year for Gary Brennan, Keelan Sexton, Shane Brennan, Darren Nagle, Martin McMahon and debutant O’Brien.

Billy Lee takes charge of his first game as Limerick manager against the Banner County. He will also be using the McGrath Cup to test out players before the start of the Allianz National Football League.

1: Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)
2: Darren Nagle (Liscannor)
3: Kevin Hartnett (Meelick)
4: Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
5: Liam Markham (Cratloe)
6: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
7: Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
10: Shane Brennan (Clondegad)
11: Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis)
12: Darragh Bolton (Kilrush Shamrocks)
13: Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
14: Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
15: Gearoid O’Brien (Kilrush Shamrocks)

1. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen)
2. Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys)
3. Johnny McCarthy (St Kierans)
4. Sean O Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
5. Paul White (Rathkeale)
6. Iain Corbett (Newcastlewest) (Captain)
7. Paul Hannon (Newcastlewest)
8. Darragh Treacy (St Kierans)
9. David Ward (Fr Caseys)
10. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskernry)
11. Ger Collins (Monaleen)
12. Danny Neville (Ballysteen)
13. Sean McSweeney (St Kierans)
14. Seamus O Carroll (Cappagh)
15. Jamie Lee (Newcastlewest)