Kilfenora secure promotion to Senior ranks

Kilfenora secure promotion to Senior ranks


Kilfenora's Cian O'Dea. Pic: Willie O'Reilly
Kilfenora’s Cian O’Dea. Pic: Willie O’Reilly

It took two attempts but Kilfenora were crowned 2016 Clare Intermediate Football Champions when they overcame the challenge of Kildysart by three points.

Jamesy Mc Conigley reports from Hennessy Memorial Park, Miltown Malbay

Kilfenora 1-09
Kildysart 0-09
Venue: Hennessy Memorial Park, Miltown Malbay

Kildysart started the brighter with two quick fire points via John Murtagh and Kieran O’Brien. Within five minutes Kilfenora were back on level terms when courtesy of a Killian Malone free and a James Keane point.

Kilfenora moved up the gears and feed the mobile full-forward line a lot more often then in the opening 15 minutes. Ger Bobby Kelly converted two frees but the golden moment arrived when James Keane found an isolated Killian Malone and Malone found the bottom corner to help his side into a 1-03 to 0-03 lead.

It was pin-ball in the Kilfenora penalty area after Liam Keane got down well to push a Nellie

O’Connor effort but the eventually phase of play ended in a free for the North Clare side. At the interval, Kilfenora led 1-04 to 0-04.

Jack O’Dea kicked three of Kilfenora’s five points in the second half and nearly stood up and was counted for today. Kildysart pressed the panic button and reverted to long ball with 15 minutes left but Liam Keane and Co mopped it up.

Kilfenora will now dine in Clare top Tier of Football in 2017, next up for them is an exciting Munster journey for the coming winter months.

Kilfenora: Liam Keane; Shane Long, Paul Carkill, Cronan Howley; Michael James Malone, Pat Connole, Daniel Egan; Jack O’Dea (0-03), Cian O’Dea ; Aidan Long, Michéal Duffy, Páudí Ireland; Killian Malone (1-02 1F), Aidan Malone, James Keane (0-02). Subs: Michael Malone for Mathew Egan,

Wides : 7

Kidysart: Liam Griffin; Tony Mc Mahon, Shane Mc Neilis, Michael Eustace; Conor Donnellan, Rory Mc Mahon, Brian Eyres; Keith O’Connor (0-02), Neillie O’Connor; Kieran Eyres, Damien Hill, Kieran O’Brien; Ger Kelly (0-05 2F), Barry Crehan (0-02), Oisin Coyle. Subs:

Wides: 6

Referee: Barry Kelly ( Miltown Malbay)