Lissycasey breeze past O’Currys

Lissycasey breeze past O’Currys


Lissycasey goalkeeper Joe Hayes. Pic: John Meyler
Lissycasey goalkeeper Joe Hayes. Pic: John Meyler

Lissycasey advance into the last eight of the Clare SFC after they dismantled O’Currys in Cooraclare on Saturday.

By Jamesy Mc Conigley

Lissycasey 1-14
O’Currys 0-05
Venue: Cooraclare

Both sides wanted to rectify their result from two weeks ago and this was evident as it was a hotly competitive game for the first 30 minutes. Niall Kelly who has been one of the stars of this year’s 2016 championship campaign kicked early scorers for Lissycasey to help them into an early lead. Cathal Doohan scored a well executed goal to send his side into a deserved three point lead with fifteen minutes played. The sides traded scores and at the interval the scoreline stood at 1-4 to 0-4 in favour of Lissycasey.

O’Currys had a second half to forget when they could only muster up one single point while Lissycasey accelerated through the gears. The Finnucane brothers and Oisin Hanrahan tagged on further efforts to widen the ever growing gap. Niall Crowley’s men will be disappointed to have lost Cathal Doohan through injury late on in the match while they finished with fourteen as Michael O’Neill was shown a red card.

Lissycasey can now look forward to a substantial fixture as they have returned back to the Quarter Final while for O’Currys the dream of collecting Jack Daly must go on for another year.

Lissycasey: Joe Hayes; Martin Moran, Ryan Griffin, Cyril Sheehan; Oisin Hanrahan, Gerry Moran, Niall Mc Carthy; Matt O’Shea, Cathal Doohan; Kevin Hanrahan, Enda Finnucane, Mikey O’Neill; Conor Finnucane, Niall Kelly and Francie Hayes. Subs: Seamie Collins for Niall Mc Carthy, Paul Nagle for Kevin Hanrahan, Conor Talty for Cyril Sheehan, Oisin Talty for Francie Hayes and Pauric Mc for Cathal Doohan.
Scorers: Niall Kelly (0-08 6F), Cathal Doohan (1-00), Francie Hayes, Enda and Conor Finnucane, Oisin Hanrahan, Martin Moran (0-01 each).

O’Currys: Enda Greene; Brian Troy, Oliver Quinlan, Declan Walsh; Tom Downes, Michael Foran, Eoin Brew; Michael O’Shea, Derek Troy; Sean Murphy, Sean Haugh, Damien Clohessy; Jim Marrinan, Eoin Troy and Damien Carmody.
Scorers: Cathal Downes 0-02, Jim Marrinan, Eoin Troy and Seán Murphy (0-01 each).

Referee: Pat Cosgrove (Corofin)