Last minute goal sees Tipp past Clare in Munster Final

clare ladies football huddle

Tipperary edged out Clare in the Munster Intermediate Ladies Football with Lorraine O’Shea kicking an injury time goal for the victors.

- Advertisement -

Tipperary 1-16
Clare 1-13
Venue: Mallow

Having led by five points at the break, hopes were high Clare would hold on to collect their first provincial title at the grade since 2008 but they were outscored 11-5 in the second half as Tipperary upped their performance considerably.

Ciara Hickey got Clare off to a dream start, the Kilmurry Ibrickane attacker received a brilliant pass from Niamh O’Dea and Hickey kicked to the back of the net to ensure their first score of the game was a goal on four minutes.

Four points each from Ailish Considine and Niamh O’Dea gave the side managed by Neil Moynihan a 1-08 0-06 lead at half-time. Tipperary had a goal chance of their own but Ciara Harvey made a vital save approaching the break to keep Clare in control.

Tipperary came out fighting in the second half and hit four points in the third quarter. The sides were level on fifty minutes with the Premier County continuing to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

Entering the final ten minutes Niamh O’Dea and Aisling Moloney traded scores on two separate occasions to allow for a nervy finish. A late goal from Mullinahone midfielder Lorraine O’Sullivan swung the tie in Tipp’s favour and from here there was no stopping them as they held on for victory in the final few moments.

Clare still have the All-Ireland series to look forward to but for now they will be reeling from a powerful second half performance from the Premier.

Niamh O’Dea kicked a total of eight points from play but was one of only four Clare players to get on the scoresheet. Tipperary on the other hand had seven different scorers.

Tipperary: Trish Hickey (Brian Borus); Laura Morrissey (Brian Borus), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan), Anne O’Dwyer (Cappawhite); Jennifer Grant (Brian Borus), Brid Condon (Aherlow), Cliona O’Dwyer (Brian Borus); Lorraine O’Shea (Mullinahone) (1-00), Sheelagh Carew (Cappawhite); Edith Carroll (Galtee Rovers) (0-02), Mairead Morrissey (Brian Borus) (0-01), Eimear Myles (Brian Borus); Caítriona Walsh (Na Fianna) (0-01), Ashling McCarthy (Cahir) (0-05 4f), Aishling Moloney (Cahir) (0-05). Subs: Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers) (0-02).

Clare: Ciara Harvey (West Clare Gaels); Eva O’Dea (Banner Ladies), Laurie Ryan (Banner Ladies), Laura Egan (Kilmihill); Roisin Considine (Liscannor), Ellie O’Gorman (Kilmihill), Grainne Harvey (West Clare Gaels) (0-01); Louise Henchy (Banner Ladies), Kayleigh McCormack (Burren Gaels); Aoife Keane (Banner Ladies), Niamh Keane (Banner Ladies), Sarah Bohannon (Shannon Gaels); Ciara Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane) (1-00), Ailish Considine (Kilmihill) (0-04 2f), Niamh O’Dea (Banner Ladies) (0-08).

- Advertisement -

Recent Posts

- Advertisement -