Senior championship draws take place

Mark Killeen & Kilmurry Ibrickane begin the defence of their title vs Wolfe Tones. Pic: Martin Connolly

Treacy’s West County Hotel hosted Monday evening’s gathering of Clare GAA where the draws took place for the respective championships of the senior hurling plus senior and intermediate football.

A decision is to be made in the next couple of weeks in relation to the grade that Sixmilebridge’s third team will play in. They won the Junior A Championship last year which saw them secure promotion to the intermediate ranks. However the club wants to be left at Junior A which led to the postponement of both the Intermediate and Junior A draws.

- Advertisement -

All-Ireland club finalists Ballyea will play Wolfe Tones in the opening round of the Clare SHC. Beaten finalists Clonlara were paired against last year’s semi-finalists Feakle while 2015 champions Sixmilebridge have old rivals Clarecastle.

For the third year in succession, Cratloe and Whitegate will go toe to toe in the Clare SHC. Fresh from their promotion, St Josephs Doora/Barefield will meet Tulla. Éire Óg will renew acquaintances with O’Callaghans Mills as will Newmarket-on-Fergus and Clooney/Quin. An exciting battle is on the cards when current U21 holders Inagh/Kilnamona meet 2011 senior winners Crusheen.

In the Clare SFC, Wolfe Tones just like the hurling have been drawn against the reigning champions in Kilmurry Ibrickane. St Josephs Miltown will be determined to win back Jack Daly and their campaign will begin against Doonbeg. Newly promoted Kilfenora are paired with O’Currys and the meeting of Corofin and Éire Óg pits together two teams that competed in last year’s relegation semi-finals, a win for either secures their senior status.

Colm Collins’ Cratloe face an Ennistymon outfit that will be looking to build on some progress shown last year. Clondegad led by Gary Brennan are to face a battle-hardened St Senan’s Kilkee. Cooraclare under the management of John Donnellan will be plotting the downfall of St Breckan’s while Lissycasey and St Josephs Doora/Barefield complete the draw.

Either June 10/11 or 17/18 will see the start of the Clare SFC. The date for which will be decided following the county footballers’ clash with Limerick in the Munster SFC at the end of May.

Following a delay of an hour, the decision was made to postpone the U21 hurling draw. Clubs appealed the gradings of their teams and their appeal is to be heard on Thursday afternoon with the draw to take place later that evening.

Clare SHC Rnd1:
Feakle v Clonlara
Sixmilebridge v Clarecastle
Cratloe v Whitegate
Clooney/Quin v Newmarket-on-Fergus
Inagh/Kilnamona v Crusheen
Tulla v St Josephs Doora/Barefield
O’Callaghans Mills v Éire Óg
Ballyea v Wolfe Tones

Clare SFC Rnd1:
St Josephs Miltown vs Doonbeg
Kilfenora v O’Currys
Clondegad v St Senan’s Kilkee
Cooraclare v St Breckans
Corofin v Éire Óg
Ennistymon v Cratloe
Lissycasey v St Josephs Doora/Barefield
Kilmurry Ibrickane v Wolfe Tones

Clare IFC:
Group 1: Kilmihil, Liscannor, Kildysart & Clarecastle.
Group 2: Meelick, Coolmen, Shannon Gaels & Kilrush.

- Advertisement -

Recent Posts

- Advertisement -